The China Syndrome

The China Syndrome (1979)

Sometimes it’s too late to tell the truth.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller
  • Release Date: 1979-03-16
  • User Rating: 7.2/10 from 247 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 2min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Columbia Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: James Bridges
star 7.2/10
From 247 Ratings


While doing a series of reports on alternative energy sources, opportunistic reporter Kimberly Wells witnesses an accident at a nuclear power plant. Wells is determined to publicize the incident, but soon finds herself entangled in a sinister conspiracy to keep the full impact of the incident a secret.

The China Syndrome Trailer

Can i watch The China Syndrome on Netflix?

Unfortunately this movie is not yet available for streaming on Netflix.
Follow us on Facebook to see when The China Syndrome becomes available on Netflix!

  • Jane Fonda

    as Kimberly Wells
  • Jack Lemmon

    as Jack Godell
  • Michael Douglas

    as Richard Adams
  • Scott Brady

    as Herman De Young
  • James Hampton

    as Bill Gibson
  • Peter Donat

    as Don Jacovich
  • Wilford Brimley

    as Ted Spindler
  • Richard Herd

    as Evan McCormack
  • Daniel Valdez

    as Hector Salas
  • Stan Bohrman

    as Pete Martin
  • James Karen

    as Mac Churchill
  • Michael Alaimo

    as Greg Minor
  • Donald Hotton

    as Dr. Elliott Lowell
  • Khalilah Ali

    as Marge
  • Paul Larson

    as D.B. Royce
  • Alan Beckwith

    as Technician
  • Ron Lombard

    as Barney
  • Tom Eure

    as Tommy
  • Nick Pellegrino

    as Borden
  • Daniel Lewk

    as Donny
  • Allan Chinn

    as Holt
  • Martin Fiscoe

    as Control Guard
  • Alan Kaul

    as TV Director
  • Michael Mann

    as TV Consultant
  • David Eisenbise

    as Technical Director
  • Frank Cavestani

    as News Reporter
  • Reuben Collins

    as Sportscaster
  • E. Hampton Beagle

    as Mort
  • David Pfeiffer

    as David
  • Lewis Arquette

    as Hatcher
  • Dennis McMullen

    as Robertson
  • Rita Taggart

    as Rita Jacovich
  • James Hall

    as Harmon
  • Carol Schlanger

    as Waitress
  • Trudy Lane

    as Alma Spindler
  • Jack Smith Jr.

    as Tom
  • David Arnsen

    as KXLA Cameraman
  • Betty Harford

    as Woman at Demonstration
  • Donald Bishop

    as Hearings Chairman
  • Al Baietti

    as Pro-Nuclear Witness
  • Diandra Morrell

    as Sasha
  • Darrell Larson

    as Young Demonstrator
  • Roger Pancake

    as Gate Guard
  • Joe Lowry

    as Security Agent
  • Harry M. Williams

    as Fire Rescue
  • Dennis Barker

    as Jaws of Life
  • Joseph Garcia

    as Highway Patrolman
  • James Kline

    as Jim
  • Clay Hodges

    as SWAT Squad Leader
  • Robert A. Bowen

    as Camera Operator
  • Robert Buckingham

    as Party Guest
  • John Philip Dayton

    as Young Photographer
  • Paul DeCeglie

    as Man at Meeting
  • Peter Paul Eastman

    as Reporter
  • Michael Jeffers

    as Board Member
  • Paul LeClair

    as Board Member
  • Monty O'Grady

    as Party Guest
  • Ray Pourchot

    as Man at Meeting
  • Hank Robinson

    as Reporter
  • George Simmons

    as Waiter
  • Nico Stevens

    as Party Guest
  • Manny Weltman

    as Man at Meeting
Directing Barrie M. Osborne Second Assistant Director
Production Stanzi Stokes Casting Assistant
Production Michael Douglas Producer
Sound Samuel C. Crutcher Assistant Sound Editor
Art George Jenkins Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Aggie Guerard Rodgers Costumer
Art William Ladd Skinner Set Designer
Costume & Make-Up Donfeld Costume Design
Production Marty P. Ewing Production Assistant
Writing James Bridges Screenplay
Directing James Bridges Director
Writing Mike Gray Screenplay
Writing T.S. Cook Screenplay
Production Bruce Gilbert Executive Producer
Production James Nelson Unit Production Manager
Production James Nelson Associate Producer
Camera James Crabe Director of Photography
Editing David Rawlins Editor
Production Sally Dennison Casting
Art Arthur Jeph Parker Set Decoration
Sound Fred J. Brown Sound Effects Editor
Camera Reynaldo Villalobos Additional Camera
Visual Effects Richard Edlund Visual Effects Camera
Production James A. Dennett Production Manager
Sound Michael Boddicker Musician
Sound Dan Wallin Scoring Mixer
Art R. Chris Westlund Leadman
Directing Joel Chernoff Second Unit Director
Crew Craig Pinkard Transportation Coordinator
Directing Marshall Schlom Script Supervisor
Sound Gene Corso Sound Effects Editor
Sound Marvin E. Lewis Boom Operator
Sound Les Fresholtz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Michael Minkler Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Arthur Piantadosi Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Jim Henrikson Music Editor
Crew Bryce Guy Williams Stunt Double
Art Terry E. Lewis Property Master
Camera Peter Sorel Still Photographer
Art William Maldonado Construction Coordinator
Production Eileen Peterson Publicist
Costume & Make-Up Kaye Pownall Hairstylist
Crew Bruce Mattox Special Effects Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Eddie Marks Costumer
Directing Kim Kurumada First Assistant Director
Sound Willie D. Burton Sound Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Don Schoenfeld Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Matthew Yuricich Matte Painter
Art Rudy Reachi Assistant Property Master
Costume & Make-Up Bernadine M. Anderson Makeup Artist
Sound Mary McGlone Sound Effects Editor
Crew Henry Millar Jr. Special Effects
Art S. Bruce Wineinger Construction Foreman
Camera Robert Duggan Best Boy Grip
Camera Robert Isenberg Assistant Camera
Production Bruce Nahin Production Assistant
Lighting Daryl Smith Best Boy Electric
Sound Lorane Mitchell Sound Effects Editor
Editing Francesca Emerson Assistant Editor
Crew Robert W. Harris Cableman
Lighting James O. Blair Gaffer
Camera Tom Prophet Jr. Key Grip
Camera Mike Sweeten Camera Operator
Camera John Szajner Second Assistant Camera
Production Douglas E. Stoll Location Manager
Crew Edward Baken Transportation Captain
Production Ronnie Kramer Production Secretary