The Final Countdown

The Final Countdown (1980)

Trapped outside the boundaries of time and space... 102 aircraft... 6,000 men... all missing.

  • Genre: War, Action, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1980-01-31
  • User Rating: 6.6/10 from 523 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 43min
  • Language: Pусский
  • Production Company: Bryna Productions
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Don Taylor
star 6.6/10
From 523 Ratings


During routine manoeuvres near Hawaii in 1980, the aircraft-carrier USS Nimitz is caught in a strange vortex-like storm, throwing the ship back in time to 1941—mere hours before the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor.

The Final Countdown Trailer

Can i watch The Final Countdown on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie The Final Countdown is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Final Countdown becomes available on Netflix!

  • Kirk Douglas

    as Capt. Matthew Yelland
  • Martin Sheen

    as Warren Lasky
  • Katharine Ross

    as Laurel Scott
  • James Farentino

    as Wing Commander Richard T. Owens
  • Ron O'Neal

    as Commander Dan Thurman
  • Charles Durning

    as Senator Samuel Chapman
  • Victor Mohica

    as Black Cloud
  • James Coleman

    as Lt. Perry
  • Soon-Tek Oh

    as Simura
  • Alvin Ing

    as Lt. Kajima
  • Lloyd Kaufman

    as LCdr. Kaufman
  • Dan Fitzgerald

    as Navy Doctor
  • Peter Douglas

    as Quartermaster
  • Joe Lowry

    as Cdr. Damon
  • Ted Richert

    as Tideman's Assistant
  • Mark Thomas

    as Marine Cpl. Kullman
  • Harold Bergman

    as Bellman
  • George Warren

    as Tideman's Bodyguard
  • Richard Liberty

    as LCdr. Moss
  • Gary Morgan

    as Helicopter Crewman
  • Phil Philbin

    as Admiral
  • Robert Goodman

    as Enlisted Man
  • Neil Ronco

    as Harvey
  • Bill Couch

    as Durrell (as William Couch)
  • Jack McDermott

    as Wynn
  • Masayuki Yamazuki

    as Togawa
  • George H. Strohsahl Jr.

    as Air Boss
  • Ronald R. Stoops

    as Navigator
  • Kenneth J. Jaskolski

    as Assistant Air Boss
  • Sergei M. Kowalchik

    as Crewman
  • Jake Dennis

    as Helicopter Pilot
  • Jim Toone

    as Helicopter Co-Pilot
  • Edward J. Deats

    as Chief
  • Robert L. Huffman

    as Radio Officer
  • James R. Augustus

    as Jr. Officer Of The Deck
  • Sam P. Baldwin

    as Lee Helmsman
  • Ronnie J. Ellis

    as Captain's Aide
  • Timothy W. Gersbacher

    as Enlisted Man
  • Wayne L. Flesher

    as Enlisted Man
  • William S. Frost

    as Enlisted Man
  • David H. Signor

    as Enlisted Man
  • Tommy Abel

    as USS Nimitz Crew
  • Andrew Akerson

    as USS Nimitz Crew
  • Edward Andrews

    as USS Nimitz Crew
  • Nick L. Anelli

    as USS Nimitz Crew
  • Frank R. Arko

    as USS Nimitz Crew
Sound Mark A. Mangini Sound Effects Editor
Sound Richard L. Anderson Sound Effects Editor
Directing Don Taylor Director
Costume & Make-Up Romaine Greene Hairstylist
Art Fernando Carrere Production Design
Camera Victor J. Kemper Director of Photography
Editing Robert K. Lambert Editor
Directing Robert K. Lambert Second Unit Director
Costume & Make-Up Irving Buchman Makeup Artist
Sound John Scott Original Music Composer
Writing David Ambrose Screenplay
Writing David Ambrose Story
Directing Ed Milkovich Second Assistant Director
Writing Thomas Hunter Screenplay
Writing Thomas Hunter Story
Writing Peter Powell Screenplay
Writing Peter Powell Story
Production Peter Douglas Producer
Production Richard R. St. Johns Executive Producer
Writing Gerry Davis Screenplay
Production John W. Hyde Executive In Charge Of Production
Directing Pat Kehoe First Assistant Director
Production Lloyd Kaufman Unit Production Manager
Production Lloyd Kaufman Associate Producer
Costume & Make-Up Bob Mills Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Bob Mills Makeup Supervisor
Crew Orwin C. Harvey Stunts
Crew Bill Couch Stunt Coordinator
Sound Warren Hamilton Jr. Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Ray Summers Costume Design
Art Kent H. Johnson Property Master
Visual Effects Maurice Binder Visual Effects
Camera David L. Butler Second Unit Director of Photography
Lighting Earl Gilbert Gaffer
Camera Robert C. Thomas Camera Operator
Camera Jim Coe Still Photographer
Sound Bruce Bisenz Sound Mixer
Art Dennis Peebles Set Decoration
Art Dale Koeppe Assistant Art Director
Art William Maldonado Construction Coordinator
Sound Robert Nichols II Sound Recordist
Crew Joe Day Special Effects
Crew Garry Elmendorf Special Effects
Crew Pat Elmendorf Special Effects
Camera Stan Lazan Second Unit Director of Photography
Sound Milton Lustig Music Editor
Directing Lynn A. Aber Script Supervisor
Crew Jack Casey Unit Publicist
Directing Douglas E. Wise Second Assistant Director
Crew Colby Smith Stunts
Crew J. David Jones Stunts
Directing J. David Jones Second Unit Director