Back to the Future

Back to the Future (1985)

He was never in time for his classes. He wasn't in time for his dinner. Then one day...he wasn't in his time at all.

  • Genre: Adventure, Comedy, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1985-07-03
  • User Rating: 8.3/10 from 18997 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 56min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Robert Zemeckis
star 8.3/10
From 18,997 Ratings


Eighties teenager Marty McFly is accidentally sent back in time to 1955, inadvertently disrupting his parents' first meeting and attracting his mother's romantic interest. Marty must repair the damage to history by rekindling his parents' romance and - with the help of his eccentric inventor friend Doc Brown - return to 1985.

Back to the Future Trailer

Can i watch Back to the Future on Netflix?

Is Back to the Future on Netflix? Yes! The movie Back to the Future is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

  • Michael J. Fox

    as Marty McFly
  • Christopher Lloyd

    as Emmett Brown
  • Crispin Glover

    as George McFly
  • Lea Thompson

    as Lorraine Baines
  • Claudia Wells

    as Jennifer Parker
  • Thomas F. Wilson

    as Biff Tannen
  • Marc McClure

    as Dave McFly
  • Wendie Jo Sperber

    as Linda McFly
  • George DiCenzo

    as Sam Baines
  • Frances Lee McCain

    as Stella Baines
  • Billy Zane

    as Match
  • J.J. Cohen

    as Skinhead
  • Casey Siemaszko

    as 3-D
  • James Tolkan

    as Mr. Strickland
  • Harry Waters, Jr.

    as Marvin Berry
  • Donald Fullilove

    as Goldie Wilson
  • Lisa Freeman

    as Babs
  • Cristen Kauffman

    as Betty
  • Elsa Raven

    as Clocktower Lady
  • Will Hare

    as Pa Peabody
  • Ivy Bethune

    as Ma Peabody
  • Jason Marin

    as Sherman Peabody
  • Katherine Britton

    as Peabody Daughter
  • Jason Hervey

    as Milton Baines
  • Maia Brewton

    as Sally Baines
  • Courtney Gains

    as Dixon
  • Richard L. Duran

    as Terrorist
  • Jeff O'Haco

    as Terrorist Van Driver
  • Johnny Green

    as Scooter Kid #1
  • Jamie Abbott

    as Scooter Kid #2
  • Norman Alden

    as Lou
  • Read Morgan

    as Cop
  • Sachi Parker

    as Bystander #1
  • Robert Krantz

    as Bystander #2
  • Gary Riley

    as Guy #1
  • Karen Petrasek

    as Girl #1
  • George Buck Flower

    as Red the Bum
  • Tommy Thomas

    as Starlighter
  • Granville 'Danny' Young

    as Starlighter
  • David Harold Brown

    as Starlighter
  • Lloyd L. Tolbert

    as Starlighter
  • Paul Hanson

    as Pinhead
  • Lee Brownfield

    as Pinhead
  • Robert DeLapp

    as Pinhead
  • Tony Pope

    as 1985 Radio Announcer (voice) (uncredited)
  • Charles L. Campbell

    as 1955 Radio Announcer (voice) (uncredited)
  • Huey Lewis

    as High School Band Audition Judge (uncredited)
  • Kiki Ebsen

    as Band Member (uncredited)
  • Randy Feelgood

    as Zoot Boogallo (uncredited)
  • Hal Gausman

    as Mayor Red Thomas (uncredited)
  • Deborah Harmon

    as TV Newscaster (uncredited)
  • Arthur Tovey

    as Wilbur (uncredited)
  • Ethel Sway

    as Wilbur's Wife (uncredited)
  • Janine King

    as Student (uncredited)
  • Richard Patrick

    as Teenager (uncredited)
  • Tom Tangen

    as Student (uncredited)
  • Tom Willett

    as Pedestrian in Town Square (uncredited)
Sound Alan Silvestri Original Music Composer
Sound Alan Silvestri Conductor
Directing Robert Zemeckis Director
Writing Robert Zemeckis Writer
Editing Arthur Schmidt Editor
Production Steven Spielberg Executive Producer
Crew Steven Spielberg Presenter
Production Kathleen Kennedy Executive Producer
Art Lawrence G. Paull Production Design
Production Jane Feinberg Casting
Production Mike Fenton Casting
Production Frank Marshall Executive Producer
Directing Frank Marshall Second Unit Director
Crew Arthur F. Repola Post Production Supervisor
Production Judy Taylor Casting
Production Bob Gale Producer
Writing Bob Gale Writer
Production Neil Canton Producer
Camera Dean Cundey Director of Photography
Editing Harry Keramidas Editor
Art Hal Gausman Set Decoration
Directing David McGiffert First Assistant Director
Art Todd Hallowell Art Direction
Crew Eric Stoltz Stunt Driver
Crew Ted Moehnke Pyrotechnician
Costume & Make-Up Deborah Lynn Scott Costume Design
Sound Charles L. Campbell Supervising Sound Editor
Crew Richard E. Butler Stunts
Crew Charles Croughwell Stunt Double
Production Dennis E. Jones Unit Production Manager
Costume & Make-Up Ken Chase Makeup Artist
Crew Walter Scott Stunt Coordinator
Crew Bob Yerkes Stunts
Production Leanne Moore Production Accountant
Sound James B. Campbell Orchestrator
Sound William B. Kaplan Production Sound Mixer
Sound Earl Sampson Boom Operator
Crew Bonne Radford Production Controller
Camera Raymond Stella Camera Operator
Production Jack Grossberg Unit Production Manager
Crew John-Clay Scott Stunts
Camera Clyde E. Bryan First Assistant Camera
Crew Spiro Razatos Stunts
Crew Max Kleven Stunts
Sound Huey Lewis Songs
Crew Per Welinder Stunts
Visual Effects Kevin Pike Special Effects Supervisor
Crew Loren Janes Stunts
Sound Gary A. Hecker Foley Artist
Sound Takeo Ogawa Sound Designer
Sound John Roesch Foley
Costume & Make-Up Dorothy Byrne Hairstylist
Art Cameron Birnie Set Designer
Art Drew Struzan Other
Costume & Make-Up Elizabeth Rabe Hairstylist
Camera Ray Gilberti Assistant Camera
Editing Terry Hager Color Timer
Art John Zemansky Property Master
Camera Ralph Nelson Jr. Still Photographer
Sound Kenneth Karman Music Editor
Sound Greg Orloff Foley Mixer
Sound John A. Larsen Sound Editor
Production Paul Pav Location Manager
Visual Effects Wes Takahashi Animation Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Robert Iannaccone Costume Supervisor
Crew John Feinblatt Transportation Coordinator
Lighting Mark Walthour Chief Lighting Technician
Sound Larry Singer Supervising ADR Editor
Sound Bones Howe Music Supervisor
Crew Bernie Pock Stunts
Costume & Make-Up Brian Callahan Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Julie Starr Dresner Set Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Julie Starr Dresner Key Costumer
Sound Robert R. Rutledge Supervising Sound Editor
Editing Barbara Palmer Dixon Assistant Editor
Art Tim Stadler Painter
Lighting Albert Hood Electrician
Crew Marsha Robertson Unit Publicist
Visual Effects Charlie Mullen Animation Supervisor
Crew Phillip Norwood Visual Effects Art Director
Sound Alan L. Nineberg ADR Editor
Editing Donah Bassett Negative Cutter
Art Nina Saxon Title Designer
Camera Ronald Woodward Key Grip
Sound Sonny Pettijohn Apprentice Sound Editor
Camera Dan Cooper Best Boy Grip
Costume & Make-Up Haleen K. Holt Costume Illustrator
Crew Gregory Dultz Driver
Editing Michael Moore Assistant Editor
Crew Brad Jeffries Choreographer
Crew Ramon Pahoyo Craft Service
Production Warren Franklin General Manager
Art Ernest Depew Construction Coordinator
Art Dick Lasley Production Illustrator
Camera Dic Alexander Grip
Crew Al Gaynor Scenic Artist
Production Laurie Vermont Production Coordinator
Sound Lawrence Jordan Assistant Sound Editor
Visual Effects Ellen Lichtwardt Goodchild Visual Effects
Sound Darcy Vebber Utility Sound
Camera Steve Tate Second Assistant Camera
Lighting Thomas Marshall Assistant Chief Lighting Technician
Art Joe Pfaltzgraf Assistant Property Master
Camera Richard Babin Dolly Grip
Production Robert R. Draney Assistant Accountant
Production Rob Stevens Assistant Production Coordinator
Visual Effects Donna K. Baker Rotoscoping Artist
Crew Alexander Xavier Ponce-Bonano Scientific Consultant
Crew Robert Schmelzer Stunts
Crew Jimmy Corona Rooney Stunts