About a Boy

About a Boy (2002)

Growing up has nothing to do with age.

  • Genre: Drama, Comedy, Romance
  • Release Date: 2002-04-26
  • User Rating: 6.6/10 from 2068 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 41min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: France, Germany, United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Directors: Chris Weitz, Paul Weitz.
star 6.6/10
From 2,068 Ratings


Will Freeman is a good-looking, smooth-talking bachelor whose primary goal in life is avoiding any kind of responsibility. But when he invents an imaginary son in order to meet attractive single moms, Will gets a hilarious lesson about life from a bright, but hopelessly geeky 12-year-old named Marcus. Now, as Will struggles to teach Marcus the art of being cool, Marcus teaches Will that you're never too old to grow up.

About a Boy Trailer

Can i watch About a Boy on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie About a Boy is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when About a Boy becomes available on Netflix!

  • Hugh Grant

    as Will Freeman
  • Nicholas Hoult

    as Marcus Brewer
  • Toni Collette

    as Fiona Brewer
  • Rachel Weisz

    as Rachel
  • Natalia Tena

    as Ellie
  • Victoria Smurfit

    as Suzie
  • Augustus Prew

    as Ali
  • Sharon Small

    as Christine
  • Madison Cook

    as Imogen
  • Jordan Cook

    as Imogen
  • Nicholas Hutchison

    as John
  • Ryan Speechley

    as Barney
  • Joseph Speechley

    as Barney
  • Denise Stephenson

    as Lindsey
  • Chris Webster

    as Ellie's Friend
  • Isabel Brook

    as Angie
  • Orlando Thor Newman

    as Louie, Angie's Kid
  • Paulette P. Williams

    as Bitter Ex-Girlfriend
  • Susannah Doyle

    as Bitter Ex-Girlfriend
  • Fritha Goodey

    as Bitter Ex-Girlfriend
  • Delma Walsh

    as Bitter Ex-Girlfriend
  • Peter Roy

    as Will's Dad
  • Rosalind Knight

    as Lindsey's Mum
  • Sian Martin

    as Cute Waitress
  • Joanne Petitt

    as Hairdresser
  • Cathy Murphy

    as Nurse
  • Mark Heap

    as Math Teacher
  • Claire Harman

    as Skechers Shopgirl
  • Jason Salkey

    as Amnesty International Worker Tom
  • Annabelle Apsion

    as Amnesty International Worker
  • Russell Barr

    as Maitre D'
  • Joyce Henderson

    as Moira / SPAT
  • Jenny Galloway

    as Frances / SPAT
  • Janine Duvitski

    as Caroline / SPAT
  • Alex Kew

    as Simon Cosgrove
  • Murray Lachlan Young

    as New Year's Eve Party Guest
  • Matthew James Thomas

    as Candy Thrower
  • Aaron Keeling

    as Candy Thrower
  • Sidney Livingstone

    as Park Keeper
  • Bethany Muir

    as Child in Supermarket
  • Tessa Vale

    as Class Teacher
Production Robert De Niro Producer
Costume & Make-Up Joanna Johnston Costume Design
Sound Richard LeGrand Jr. Supervising Sound Editor
Camera Remi Adefarasin Director of Photography
Art Jim Clay Production Design
Production Nicky Kentish Barnes Co-Producer
Production Tim Bevan Producer
Production Eric Fellner Producer
Writing Nick Hornby Screenplay
Production Nick Hornby Executive Producer
Writing Nick Hornby Novel
Writing Chris Weitz Screenplay
Directing Chris Weitz Director
Writing Paul Weitz Screenplay
Directing Paul Weitz Director
Writing Peter Hedges Screenplay
Production Brad Epstein Producer
Production Jane Rosenthal Producer
Editing Nick Moore Editor
Production Priscilla John Casting
Sound Badly Drawn Boy Original Music Composer
Production Lynn Harris Executive Producer
Sound Walter Spencer Dialogue Editor
Production Debra Hayward Co-Producer
Production Liza Chasin Co-Producer
Costume & Make-Up Carmel Jackson Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Lorna McGowan Makeup Artist
Sound Marilyn Graf Foley Editor
Production Neil Chaplin Production Accountant
Editing Jim Passon Color Timer
Production Bernard Bellew Production Manager
Art Rod McLean Supervising Art Director
Production Brendan Donnison ADR Voice Casting
Editing Simon Cozens First Assistant Editor
Art John Bush Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up Martin Chitty Costume Assistant
Directing Alex Oakley Third Assistant Director
Crew Sara Woodhatch Actor's Assistant
Production Tarn Harper Post Production Accountant
Sound Nick Angel Music Supervisor
Sound Andy Koyama Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Bob McNabb ADR Supervisor
Directing Christopher Newman First Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Guy Speranza Assistant Costume Designer
Costume & Make-Up Claire Finlay-Thompson Costume Supervisor
Art Gary Freeman Art Direction
Art Barry Gibbs Property Master
Sound Lee Gilmore Apprentice Sound Editor
Production Steve Hart Location Manager
Sound Tony Dawe Sound Mixer
Sound Gary S. Gerlich Sound Editor
Camera Peter Robertson Steadicam Operator
Camera Peter Robertson "A" Camera Operator
Crew Stacy Mann Unit Publicist
Crew Jill McCullough Dialogue Coach
Sound Bill Meadows Sound Recordist
Sound Ted Swanscott ADR Mixer
Sound Patrick O'Sullivan Sound Editor
Camera Laurie Sparham Still Photographer
Sound Bryan Pennington Dolby Consultant
Costume & Make-Up Graham Johnston Hair Designer
Costume & Make-Up Graham Johnston Makeup Designer
Sound William Hooper Sound Editor
Sound Chris Carpenter Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Charles Martin Inouye Supervising Music Editor
Production Ann Lynch Production Coordinator
Directing Nikki Clapp Script Supervisor
Art Paul Duff Standby Carpenter
Production Laura Dickens Casting Assistant
Directing Ben Howarth Second Assistant Director
Lighting Jamie Mills Electrician
Production Vanessa Baker ADR Voice Casting
Production Hardy Justice Co-Producer
Crew Graham Stumpf Post Production Supervisor
Crew Darryl Carter Carpenter
Sound Jaya Bishop Boom Operator
Sound Norval D. Crutcher III ADR Editor
Sound Samuel Webb Assistant Sound Editor
Camera Rene Adefarasin Camera Loader
Editing Theresa Repola Mohammed Negative Cutter
Sound Stephen McLaughlin Scoring Mixer
Camera John Arnold Key Grip
Art Rosie Hardwick Assistant Art Director
Sound Colin Cooper ADR Recordist
Costume & Make-Up Helen Mattocks Key Set Costumer
Crew Nick Goodall Carpenter
Crew Peter Duffy Carpenter
Art Jeff Sullivan Painter
Crew Joseph Alley Carpenter
Production Lucy Williams Unit Manager
Lighting Dave Moss Electrician
Art Bill Hargreaves Props
Production Meghan Lyvers Producer's Assistant
Art David Williamson Standby Carpenter
Costume & Make-Up Louise Egan Costume Assistant
Crew Grahame Crowther Stunt Coordinator