The Year My Voice Broke

The Year My Voice Broke (1987)

It was incredible. It was the year that changed everything. Forever.

  • Genre: Drama, Romance
  • Release Date: 1987-10-15
  • User Rating: 7.2/10 from 33 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 45min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Kennedy Miller Productions
  • Production Country: Australia
  • Director: John Duigan
star 7.2/10
From 33 Ratings


Set in 1962, a young prepubescent boy in rural Australia watches painfully as his best friend and first love blossoms into womanhood and falls for a thuggish rugby player, changing the lives of everyone involved.

The Year My Voice Broke Trailer

Can i watch The Year My Voice Broke on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie The Year My Voice Broke is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Year My Voice Broke becomes available on Netflix!

  • Noah Taylor

    as Danny Embling
  • Loene Carmen

    as Freya Olsen
  • Ben Mendelsohn

    as Trevor Leishman
  • Graeme Blundell

    as Nils Olson
  • Lynette Curran

    as Anne Olson
  • Malcolm Robertson

    as Bruce Embling
  • Judi Farr

    as Sheila Embling
  • Tim Robertson

    as Bob Leishman
  • Bruce Spence

    as Jonah
  • Harold Hopkins

    as Tom Alcock
  • Nick Tate

    as Sergeant Pierce
  • Anja Coleby

    as Gail Olson
  • Kylie Ostara

    as Alison
  • Kelly Dingwall

    as Barry
  • Dorothy St. Heaps

    as Mrs. Beal
  • Colleen Clifford

    as Gran Olson
  • Vincent Ball

    as Headmaster
  • Kevin Manser

    as Mr. Keith
  • Emma Lyle

    as Lisa
  • Louise Birgan

    as Lyn
  • Mary Regan

    as Miss McColl
  • Matthew Ross

    as Malseed
  • Allan Penney

    as Martin
  • Queenie Ashton

    as Mrs. O'Neil
  • Robert Carlton

    as Pierdon
  • Gary Dale

    as Policeman
  • Brenda Burcul

    as Ros
  • Helen Lomas

    as Sally
  • Michael Kent

    as Tony
  • Lee Biolos

    as Johnny
  • Suzi Dougherty

    as Carol
Directing John Duigan Director
Writing John Duigan Writer
Camera Geoff Burton Director of Photography
Editing Neil Thumpston Editor
Art Roger Ford Production Design
Production Barbara Gibbs Associate Producer
Production George Miller Producer
Production Terry Hayes Producer
Production Doug Mitchell Producer
Costume & Make-Up Lyn Askew Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Roger Ford Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Fiona Nicolls Costume Design
Costume & Make-Up Sherry Hubbard Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Jan Zeigenbein Hairstylist
Sound Nicki Roller Sound Effects Editor
Sound Ross Linton Sound Recordist
Sound Phil Judd Sound Mixer
Crew Linda Megier Stunts
Crew Guy Norris Stunts
Crew Greg Stuart Stunts
Directing Charles Rotherham First Assistant Director
Crew Claire O'Brien Post Production Supervisor
Crew Marcus D'Arcy Post Production Supervisor
Production Alison Barrett Casting
Production Julie Plummer Production Coordinator
Production Alistair Jenkins Finance
Production Janeen Faithfull Production Accountant
Production Beverly D'Arcy Assistant Accountant
Production Maria Phillips Production Runner
Production Christine Woodruff Extras Casting
Sound Christine Woodruff Music Coordinator
Directing Daphne Paris Script Supervisor
Directing Tom Blacket Assistant Director
Directing P.J. Voeten Assistant Director
Production Hugh Johnston Unit Manager
Camera Darrin Keough Focus Puller
Camera Erika Addis Clapper Loader
Sound Catherine Gross Boom Operator
Lighting Ian Plummer Gaffer
Lighting Grant Atkinson Best Boy Electric
Lighting Steve Harris Electrician
Lighting Robert Burr Assistant Electrician
Camera Bruce Barber Key Grip
Camera Kerry Jackson Assistant Grip
Art Sarah Tooth Assistant Set Designer
Art Alethea Deane Set Decoration Buyer
Art Colin Gibson Standby Property Master
Art Jo Johanson Runner Art Department
Costume & Make-Up Lyn Askew Wardrobe Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Fiona Nicolls Wardrobe Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Suzy Carter Wardrobe Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Rita Crouch Wardrobe Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Julie Frankham Wardrobe Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Christian Shearer Wardrobe Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Anna Wade Wardrobe Assistant
Art Danny Burnett Construction Manager
Crew Con Mustard Carpenter
Editing Julia Gelhard Assistant Editor
Editing Jane Maguire Assistant Editor
Sound Karin Whittington Dialogue Editor
Sound Tim Jordan Dialogue Editor
Sound John Patterson Assistant Dialogue Editor
Sound Nick Breslin Assistant Dialogue Editor
Sound Steve Murphy Sound Effects Editor
Sound Penn Robinson Foley
Sound Julius Chan Foley
Sound Gary O'Grady Foley
Crew Janene Luff Catering
Camera Robert McFarlane Still Photographer
Crew Guy Norris Stunt Coordinator
Crew Robyn Moase Choreographer
Sound Angus Robertson ADR Mixer
Crew Danny Baldwin Stunts