To Be or Not to Be

To Be or Not to Be (1942)

Hollywood's Happiest Star in the Picture You Must Not Miss!

  • Genre: Comedy, War
  • Release Date: 1942-03-05
  • User Rating: 7.8/10 from 683 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 39min
  • Language: Deutsch
  • Production Company: United Artists
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Ernst Lubitsch
star 7.8/10
From 683 Ratings


During the Nazi occupation of Poland, an acting troupe becomes embroiled in a Polish soldier's efforts to track down a German spy.

To Be or Not to Be Trailer

Can i watch To Be or Not to Be on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie To Be or Not to Be is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when To Be or Not to Be becomes available on Netflix!

  • Carole Lombard

    as Maria Tura
  • Jack Benny

    as Joseph Tura
  • Robert Stack

    as Lieut. Stanislav Sobinski
  • Felix Bressart

    as Greenberg
  • Lionel Atwill

    as Rawitch
  • Stanley Ridges

    as Professor Alexander Siletsky
  • Sig Ruman

    as Col. Ehrhardt
  • Tom Dugan

    as Bronski
  • Charles Halton

    as Producer Dobosh
  • George Lynn

    as Actor-Adjutant
  • Henry Victor

    as Capt. Schultz
  • Maude Eburne

    as Anna
  • Halliwell Hobbes

    as Gen. Armstrong
  • Miles Mander

    as Major Cunningham
  • Rudolph Anders

    as Gestapo Sergeant at Desk at Top of Hotel Stairs (uncredited)
  • Paul Barrett

    as Polish RAF Pilot (uncredited)
  • Sven Hugo Borg

    as German Soldier (uncredited)
  • Danny Borzage

    as Member of Audience at Performance of Hamlet (uncredited)
  • Buster Brodie

    as Townsman (uncredited)
  • Peter Caldwell

    as Wilhelm Kunze (uncredited)
  • Alec Craig

    as Scottish Farmer Without Mustache (uncredited)
  • Helmut Dantine

    as Co-Pilot (uncredited)
  • Jack Deery

    as Member of Audience at Performance of Hamlet (uncredited)
  • Leslie Denison

    as Captain (uncredited)
  • James Finlayson

    as Scottish Farmer with Mustache (uncredited)
  • James Gillette

    as Polish RAF Pilot (uncredited)
  • Stuart Hall

    as Member of Audience at Performance of Hamlet (uncredited)
  • Leyland Hodgson

    as Second Reporter (uncredited)
  • Shep Houghton

    as German Soldier (uncredited)
  • Olaf Hytten

    as Polonius in Warsaw (uncredited)
  • Charles Irwin

    as Reporter (uncredited)
  • Tiny Jones

    as Townswoman (uncredited)
  • John Kellogg

    as Polish RAF Flyer (uncredited)
  • Adolf E. Licho

    as Prompter (uncredited)
  • Wilbur Mack

    as Member of Audience at Performance of Hamlet (uncredited)
  • John Meredith

    as English Wireless Operator (uncredited)
  • Maurice Murphy

    as Polish RAF Pilot (uncredited)
  • Richard Neill

    as Warsaw Bystander (uncredited)
  • Russ Powell

    as Warsaw Bystander (uncredited)
  • Frank Reicher

    as Polish Official (uncredited)
  • Otto Reichow

    as Co-Pilot (uncredited)
  • Gene Rizzi

    as Polish RAF Pilot (uncredited)
  • John Roy

    as Member of Audience at Performance of Hamlet (uncredited)
  • Hans Schumm

    as Special Investigations Squad (uncredited)
  • Stephen Soldi

    as Warsaw Bystander (uncredited)
  • Count Stefenelli

    as Member of Audience at Performance of Hamlet (uncredited)
  • Roland Varno

    as Pilot (uncredited)
  • Ernö Verebes

    as Stage Manager (uncredited)
  • Dorothy Vernon

    as Member of Audience at Performance of Hamlet (uncredited)
  • Armand 'Curly' Wright

    as Makeup Man (uncredited)
  • Wolfgang Zilzer

    as Man in Bookstore (uncredited)
Directing Ernst Lubitsch Director
Production Ernst Lubitsch Producer
Camera Rudolph Maté Director of Photography
Sound Werner R. Heymann Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Irene Costume Design
Editing Dorothy Spencer Editor
Art Vincent Korda Production Design
Costume & Make-Up Gordon Bau Makeup Artist
Production Walter Mayo Production Manager
Directing William McGarry Assistant Director
Directing William Tummel Assistant Director
Sound Frank Maher Sound
Crew Lawrence W. Butler Special Effects
Writing Edwin Justus Mayer Screenplay
Crew Ryszard Ordyński Technical Supervisor
Art J. McMillan Johnson Assistant Art Director
Production Victor Sutker Casting Director
Production Alexander Korda Executive Producer
Writing Melchior Lengyel Story
Art Julia Heron Set Decoration