The Thing

The Thing (1982)

Man is the warmest place to hide.

  • Genre: Horror, Mystery, Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1982-06-25
  • User Rating: 8.1/10 from 6590 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Universal Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: John Carpenter
star 8.1/10
From 6,590 Ratings


In the winter of 1982, a twelve-man research team at a remote Antarctic research station discovers an alien buried in the snow for over 100,000 years. Soon unfrozen, the form-changing creature wreaks havoc, creates terror... and becomes one of them.

The Thing Trailer

Can i watch The Thing on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie The Thing is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Thing becomes available on Netflix!

  • Kurt Russell

    as R.J. MacReady
  • Keith David

    as Childs
  • Wilford Brimley

    as Blair
  • T.K. Carter

    as Nauls
  • David Clennon

    as Palmer
  • Richard Dysart

    as Dr. Copper
  • Charles Hallahan

    as Norris
  • Peter Maloney

    as Bennings
  • Richard Masur

    as Clark
  • Donald Moffat

    as Garry
  • Joel Polis

    as Fuchs
  • Thomas G. Waites

    as Windows
  • Norbert Weisser

    as Norwegian
  • Larry J. Franco

    as Norwegian Passenger with Rifle
  • Nate Irwin

    as Helicopter Pilot
  • William Zeman

    as Pilot
  • Adrienne Barbeau

    as Computer (voice) (uncredited)
  • John Carpenter

    as Norwegian (video footage) (uncredited)
  • Jed

    as The Dog (uncredited)
Writing Bill Lancaster Screenplay
Directing John Carpenter Director
Production Wilbur Stark Executive Producer
Editing Todd C. Ramsay Editor
Production David Foster Producer
Camera Dean Cundey Director of Photography
Sound Ennio Morricone Original Music Composer
Art John M. Dwyer Set Decoration
Production Anita Dann Casting
Art Henry Larrecq Art Direction
Art John J. Lloyd Production Design
Production Stuart Cohen Co-Producer
Camera Cyrus Block Camera Operator
Costume & Make-Up Ronald I. Caplan Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Gilbert Loe Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Trish Keating Costume Supervisor
Sound David Lewis Yewdall Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Steve Maslow Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Cliff Kohlweck Music Editor
Sound Warren Hamilton Jr. Sound Effects Editor
Lighting Thomas Marshall Gaffer
Art Barton M. Susman Leadman
Camera Raymond Stella Camera Operator
Sound Colin C. Mouat Supervising Sound Editor
Lighting Charles E. Nippell Best Boy Electric
Directing Candy Artmont Script Supervisor
Crew Ken Diaz Makeup Effects
Production Lawrence Turman Producer
Production Larry J. Franco Associate Producer
Directing Christine Wilson Script Supervisor
Crew Ken Strain Pilot
Crew Lawrence Perry Pilot
Camera Ronald Woodward Key Grip
Camera Kris Krosskove Dolly Grip
Camera Dillard Brinson Key Grip
Camera Dave Gordon Dolly Grip
Sound Alan Howarth Original Music Composer
Sound John Carpenter Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Phyllis Newman Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Ken Chase Makeup Artist
Crew Rock A. Walker Stunts
Sound Ernesto Mas Assistant Sound Editor
Sound John K. Adams Foley Supervisor
Production Fitch Cady Unit Production Manager
Crew Clint Rowe Stunts
Crew Jerry Wills Stunts
Camera Ray Kinzer Grip
Directing Michael Steele Second Assistant Director
Crew Nate Irwin Pilot
Crew Kent Hays Stunts
Crew Dick Warlock Stunt Coordinator
Art James Callan Painter
Camera Paul R. Prince First Assistant Camera
Crew Eric Mansker Stunts
Crew Ken Strain Stunts
Lighting Mark Walthour Gaffer
Art Mentor Huebner Production Illustrator
Production Robert Latham Brown Production Manager
Art Graeme Murray Set Decoration
Production Karen Kalton Production Secretary
Crew Larry Holt Stunts
Crew Melvin Jones Stunts
Crew Denver Mattson Stunts
Crew Bob Cornell Transportation Captain
Sound Kendrick Sweet Sound Editor
Art Milton Wilson Swing
Art Michael R. Gannon Assistant Property Master
Crew George Lawson Driver
Camera Steve Tate Second Assistant Camera
Crew Lee Routly Special Effects
Camera Chris Helcermanas-Benge Still Photographer
Directing Larry J. Franco First Assistant Director
Crew Yervant Babasin Craft Service
Crew Hans Metz Special Effects Assistant
Crew Rocky Corsini Craft Service
Art Gary Meyer Production Illustrator
Camera James L. Hurford Best Boy Grip
Crew Anthony Cecere Stunts
Crew Roy Arbogast Special Effects
Directing Jeffrey Chernov Second Assistant Director
Crew Dan Anglin Transportation Captain
Art Joseph R. Savko Swing
Production Ron MacInnes Production Assistant
Crew Robin Mounsey Technical Advisor
Crew Alois Stranan Transportation Captain
Crew Spencer Hyde Craft Service
Art Richard A. Gonzales Swing
Production Debbie Collier Production Secretary
Camera David Geddes Second Assistant Camera
Camera Douglas Pruss Second Assistant Camera
Camera Clyde E. Bryan First Assistant Camera
Crew John K. Stirber Special Effects Assistant
Art Michael Ploog Production Illustrator
Crew Michael A. Clifford Special Effects
Lighting Len Wolfe Best Boy Electric
Crew Rob Bottin Makeup Effects
Crew Barrett J. Reid Generator Operator
Costume & Make-Up Rob Bottin Makeup Effects Designer
Visual Effects Albert Whitlock Visual Effects
Visual Effects Henry Schoessler Visual Effects
Art John Zemansky Property Master
Writing John W. Campbell Jr. Novel
Lighting David R. Anderson Gaffer