The Current War

The Current War (2019)

Power changes everything

  • Genre: Drama, History
  • Release Date: 2019-07-18
  • User Rating: 6.7/10 from 474 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 45min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Bazelevs Production
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Alfonso Gomez-Rejon
star 6.7/10
From 474 Ratings


Electricity titans Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse compete to create a sustainable system and market it to the American people

The Current War Trailer

Can i watch The Current War on Netflix?

Unfortunately this movie is not yet available for streaming on Netflix.
Follow us on Facebook to see when The Current War becomes available on Netflix!

  • Benedict Cumberbatch

    as Thomas Edison
  • Michael Shannon

    as George Westinghouse
  • Nicholas Hoult

    as Nikola Tesla
  • Katherine Waterston

    as Marguerite Westinghouse
  • Tom Holland

    as Samuel Insull
  • Matthew Macfadyen

    as J.P. Morgan
  • Tuppence Middleton

    as Mary Edison
  • Stanley Townsend

    as Franklin Pope
  • Damien Molony

    as Bourke Cockran
  • Conor MacNeill

    as William Kemmler
  • Celyn Jones

    as Sherman Quincy
  • Craig Roberts

    as Robert Lane
  • Harry Melling

    as Benjamin Vale
  • Colin Stinton

    as Daniel Burnham
  • Oliver Powell

    as Leo
  • John Schwab

    as Rudolph Young
  • Abigail Johns

    as Emily Faulk
  • Tom Bell

    as Reverend Vincent
  • Tom Sweet

    as Boy
  • Iain McKee

    as Reporter
  • Jason Matthewson

    as Stock Broker
  • Woody Norman

    as Dash Edison
  • Louis Ashbourne Serkis

    as Older Dash
  • Faye Ormston

    as Party Guest
  • Phil Hodges

    as City Gent
  • Ekow Quartey

    as Journalist 1
  • Adam Lazarus

    as Wabco Worker
  • Simon Connolly

    as Sioux City
  • Joseph Balderrama

    as Horace Kaden
  • Steven I. Dillard

    as NYSE member
  • Benjamin Schnau

    as George Westinghouse's secretary
  • Martyn Mayger

    as Lawyer
  • Toby Williams

    as Fort Worth Investment Banker
  • Tim Steed

    as Maurice Manesburg
  • Christopher McMullen

    as New York Stockbroker
  • Jeremy Oliver

    as Mr. Westinghouse's Secretary
  • Liza Ross

    as Beti
  • Steve Carroll

    as Cinema Goer
  • James Chalmers

    as South Dakota Delegate
  • Nancy Crane

    as Gladys
  • Will Irvine

    as Reporter 1
  • Adam Pearce

    as New Orleans Investment Banker
  • Sophia Ally

    as Dotty Edison
  • Kevin Millington

    as Henry Walsh
  • Ben Mars

    as Francis Upton
  • Greg Haiste

    as South Dakota Delegate
  • Katy Poulter

    as Hannah
  • Jed Aukin

    as Westinghouse Secretary
  • Robert-Anthony Artlett

    as Lawyer
  • John Kinory

    as Scientist
  • Michael Yates

    as Stock Enchange Gent
  • Andy Cockell

    as City Gent
  • Giacomo Joshua Brunelli

    as WABCO Worker
  • Nigel Wilcock

    as J.P. Morgan Lawyer
  • Jay William Whittington Barrette

    as Wabco Worker
  • Thor Janke

    as Policeman
  • James Chipman

    as Reporter (uncredited)
  • Gary Kiely

    as WABCO worker (uncredited)
  • Andrew Okello

    as Footman
  • David Morley Hale

    as Frederick Worthington
  • Pamela Betsy Cooper

    as Hotel Guest (uncredited)
  • Simon Manyonda

    as Lewis Latimer
  • John Pierce Jones

    as President Glover Cleveland
Production Bob Weinstein Executive Producer
Production Harvey Weinstein Producer
Production Ellen Lewis Casting
Production Steven Zaillian Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Michael Wilkinson Costume Design
Art Mark Scruton Supervising Art Director
Camera Jeong Jeong-hun Director of Photography
Art Stephen Bream Art Direction
Art Jan Roelfs Production Design
Production Timur Bekmambetov Producer
Production Basil Iwanyk Producer
Directing Alex Oakley First Assistant Director
Sound Chris Munro Production Sound Mixer
Production Garrett Basch Executive Producer
Editing David Trachtenberg Editor
Sound Saunder Jurriaans Original Music Composer
Sound Danny Bensi Original Music Composer
Directing Alfonso Gomez-Rejon Director
Production Theo Park Casting
Writing Michael Mitnick Screenplay
Production Michael Mitnick Executive Producer
Visual Effects Justin Ball Visual Effects Supervisor
Art David Doran Art Direction
Directing Jean-Paul Chreky Script Supervisor
Camera Paul Edwards Steadicam Operator
Crew Paul Herbert Stunt Coordinator
Art Brendan Houghton Storyboard Designer
Art Remo Tozzi Art Direction
Art Katherine Pearl Art Department Coordinator
Art Philip Lobban Location Scout
Lighting Andy Cole Gaffer
Art Mark McIntyre Assistant Property Master
Production Adam Ackland Executive Producer
Production Matthew Patnick Line Producer
Art Lucy Eyre Set Decoration
Production Clare Finnegan Unit Production Manager
Production Martin Walker Unit Manager
Crew Fletcher Jarvis Prop Maker
Art Constantine Katsaras Draughtsman
Art Ryan Paul McCarthy Art Department Assistant
Crew Sam Towers Carpenter
Art Lucy Williams Art Department Assistant
Crew Jeff Woodbridge Carpenter
Visual Effects Marta Padilla 3D Modeller
Crew Kye Mckee Stunts
Lighting Dave Clements Electrician
Editing Zared Shai Assistant Editor
Art Adriene Whitwell Location Scout
Art Matthew Winter Location Scout
Crew Sam Dormer Armorer
Production Vicki Smith Assistant Production Coordinator
Crew Jacob Wood Stand In
Crew Harrison Osterfield Actor's Assistant