The Lovers and the Despot

The Lovers and the Despot (2016)

They were kidnapped by their biggest fan

  • Genre: Documentary, History
  • Release Date: 2016-09-22
  • User Rating: 6.9/10 from 29 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 38min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Hellflower Films
  • Production Country: France, Netherlands, United Kingdom
  • Directors: Robert Cannan, Ross Adam.
star 6.9/10
From 29 Ratings


Hong Kong, 1978. South Korean actress Choi Eun-hee is kidnapped by North Korean operatives following orders from dictator Kim Jong-il.

The Lovers and the Despot Trailer

Can i watch The Lovers and the Despot on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie The Lovers and the Despot is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Lovers and the Despot becomes available on Netflix!

  • Paul Courtenay Hyu

    as Shin Sang-ok
  • Yuna Shin

    as Choi Eun-hee
  • Choi Eun-hee

    as Self - Actress / Various Roles
  • Michael Yi

    as Self - US Intelligence Officer
  • Shin Jeong-kyun

    as Self - Choi and Shin's Son
  • Shin Myung-yim

    as Self - Choi and Shin's Daughter
  • Choi Kyung-ok

    as Self - Choi's Brother
  • Iain T. A. Hall

    as Self - RHK Police Inspector (1975-79)
  • Pierre Rissient

    as Self - Film Critic
  • Lee Jang-ho

    as Self - Filmmaker
  • David Straub

    as Self - US SD Officer (1984-86)
  • Jang Jin-sun

    as Self - Kim's Former Court Poet
  • Nishida Tetsuo

    as Self - Film Critic
  • Derek Malcolm

    as Self - Film Critic
  • Dean S. Robinson

    as Self - Vienna US Embassy Officer (1985-87)
  • Shin Sang-ok

    as Self - Filmmaker (archive footage)
  • Kim Jong-il

    as Self - Politician (archive footage)
  • Kim Il-sung

    as Self - Politician (archive footage)
  • Kim Jong-un

    as Self - Politician (archive footage)
Directing Robert Cannan Director
Directing Ross Adam Director
Production Robert Cannan Producer
Production Ross Adam Producer
Production Natasha Dack Ojumu Producer
Editing Jim Hession Editor
Sound Nathan Halpern Original Music Composer
Sound Alastair Sirkett Sound Designer
Sound Aminé Ramer Music Supervisor
Sound Connie Farr Music Supervisor
Editing Victoria Chalk Co-Editor
Production Sheryl Crown Executive Producer
Production Maggie Monteith Executive Producer
Production Victoria Steventon Executive Producer
Production Cristina Ljungberg Executive Producer
Production Lizzie Francke Executive Producer
Production Richard Holmes Executive Producer
Production Nick Fraser Executive Producer
Production Kate Townsend Executive Producer
Production Sandra Whipham Executive Producer
Production Nikki Parrott Associate Producer
Production Christoph Jörg Co-Producer
Production Femke Wolting Co-Producer
Production Bruno Felix Co-Producer
Crew Martin Pieper Commissioning Editor
Crew Milka Pavlicevic Commissioning Editor
Crew Oscar van der Kroon Commissioning Editor
Crew Axel Arnö Commissioning Editor
Writing Jim Hession Writer
Writing Robert Cannan Writer
Writing Ross Adam Writer
Production Chavala Madlena Researcher
Sound Simon Hill Sound Mixer