Flags of Our Fathers

Flags of Our Fathers (2006)

They fight for their country but they die for their friends.

  • Genre: War, Drama, History
  • Release Date: 2006-10-18
  • User Rating: 6.8/10 from 1335 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 15min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: DreamWorks Pictures
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Clint Eastwood
star 6.8/10
From 1,335 Ratings


There were five Marines and one Navy Corpsman photographed raising the U.S. flag on Mt. Suribachi by Joe Rosenthal on February 23, 1945. This is the story of three of the six surviving servicemen - John 'Doc' Bradley, Pvt. Rene Gagnon and Pvt. Ira Hayes - who fought in the battle to take Iwo Jima from the Japanese.

Flags of Our Fathers Trailer

Can i watch Flags of Our Fathers on Netflix?

Unfortunately this movie is not yet available for streaming on Netflix.
Follow us on Facebook to see when Flags of Our Fathers becomes available on Netflix!

  • Ryan Phillippe

    as John 'Doc' Bradley
  • Adam Beach

    as Corporal Ira Hayes
  • Jesse Bradford

    as Corporal Rene Gagnon
  • John Benjamin Hickey

    as Sergeant Keyes Beech
  • John Slattery

    as Bud Gerber
  • Barry Pepper

    as Sergeant Mike Strank
  • Jamie Bell

    as Private Ralph Ignatowski
  • Paul Walker

    as Sergeant Hank Hansen
  • Robert Patrick

    as Colonel Chandler Johnson
  • Neal McDonough

    as Captain Dave Severance
  • Melanie Lynskey

    as Pauline Harnois Gagnon
  • Chris Bauer

    as General Alexander Vandegrift
  • Gordon Clapp

    as General Holland Smith
  • Judith Ivey

    as Belle Block
  • Joseph Cross

    as Private Franklin Sousley
  • Benjamin Walker

    as Harlon Block
  • Alessandro Mastrobuono

    as Corporal Chuck Lindberg
  • Stark Sands

    as Gust
  • Ann Dowd

    as Mrs. Strank
  • Beth Grant

    as Mother Gagnon
  • Brian Kimmet

    as Sergeant Boots Thomas
  • Jason Gray-Stanford

    as Lieutenant Harold Schrier
  • David Rasche

    as Senator
  • James Newman

    as Local Politician
  • Beth Tapper

    as Bar Car Beauty
  • Shakti Shannon

    as Bar Car Beauty #2
  • Scott Eastwood

    as Lundsford
  • Michael Cumpsty

    as Secretary Forrestal
  • David Patrick Kelly

    as President Harry S. Truman
  • Jon Polito

    as Borough President
  • Erica Grant

    as Secretary
  • Jayma Mays

    as Nurse in Hawaii
  • Len Cariou

    as Mr. Beech
Writing William Broyles Jr. Screenplay
Directing Clint Eastwood Director
Production Clint Eastwood Producer
Sound Clint Eastwood Original Music Composer
Art Henry Bumstead Production Design
Art Adrian Gorton Set Designer
Editing Joel Cox Editor
Art Jack G. Taylor Jr. Art Direction
Sound Bub Asman Supervising Sound Editor
Writing Paul Haggis Screenplay
Camera Tom Stern Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Deborah Hopper Costume Design
Production Steven Spielberg Producer
Production Robert Lorenz Producer
Art Richard C. Goddard Set Decoration
Sound Gloria D'Alessandro Dialogue Editor
Sound Juno J. Ellis ADR & Dubbing
Costume & Make-Up Tania McComas Makeup Department Head
Costume & Make-Up Carol A. O'Connell Hairstylist
Sound Charles Maynes Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Terry Baliel Hairstylist
Crew Steve Riley Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Eggert Ketilsson Special Effects Coordinator
Art Gunnar Pálsson Leadman
Directing Peter Dress Second Second Assistant Director
Art Michael Sexton Property Master
Sound James Matheny Dialogue Editor
Production Phyliss Huffman Casting
Sound Dan O'Connell Foley
Sound David E. Campbell Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Gregg Rudloff Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound John T. Reitz Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound John T. Cucci Foley
Sound Alan Robert Murray Supervising Sound Editor
Art Pam Cartmel Art Department Coordinator
Art Gary A. Lee Set Designer
Sound Lucy Coldsnow-Smith Dialogue Editor
Directing Mable Lawson-McCrary Script Supervisor
Sound Steve Pederson Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Steven Ticknor Sound Designer
Sound Steve Mann Sound Effects Editor
Sound Jason W. Jennings Sound Effects Editor
Sound David A. Arnold Supervising Dialogue Editor
Art David Corral Greensman
Sound Ulrika Akander Dialogue Editor
Costume & Make-Up Janice Alexander Hairstylist
Crew William Dawson Special Effects Coordinator
Art John J. Slove Jr. Construction Coordinator
Sound Jason King Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Kimberley Spiteri Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Ketty Gonzalez Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Petra Dís Magnúsdóttir Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Lisa Jelic Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Zoe Hay Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Gabriel De Cunto Makeup Artist
Art Michael Muscarella Construction Coordinator
Art John Schacht Leadman
Art Robert Clark Sculptor
Sound Joe Dorn ADR & Dubbing
Sound Nicholas Korda ADR & Dubbing
Visual Effects Matthias Wittmann Animation
Visual Effects Hugo Dominguez Visual Effects
Sound Walt Martin Sound Mixer