Solarbabies (1986)

Who will rule the future?

  • Genre: Science Fiction
  • Release Date: 1986-11-26
  • User Rating: 5.2/10 from 75 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 34min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Brooksfilms
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Alan Johnson
star 5.2/10
From 75 Ratings


In a future in which most water has disappeared from the Earth, we find a group of children, mostly teenagers, who are living at an orphanage, run by the despotic rulers of the new Earth. The group in question plays a hockey based game on roller skates and is quite good. It has given them a unity that transcends the attempts to bring them to heel by the government. Finding an orb of special power, they find it has unusual effects on them. They escape from the orphanage (on skates) and try to cross the wasteland looking for a place they can live free as the storm-troopers search for them and the orb.

Solarbabies Trailer

Can i watch Solarbabies on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie Solarbabies is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Solarbabies becomes available on Netflix!

  • Richard Jordan

    as Grock
  • Jami Gertz

    as Terra
  • Jason Patric

    as Jason
  • Lukas Haas

    as Daniel
  • James Le Gros

    as Metron
  • Claude Brooks

    as Rabbit
  • Peter DeLuise

    as Tug
  • Peter Kowanko

    as Gavial
  • Adrian Pasdar

    as Darstar
  • Sarah Douglas

    as Shandray
  • Charles Durning

    as The Warden
  • Frank Converse

    as Greentree
  • Terrence Mann

    as Ivor
  • Alexei Sayle

    as Malice
  • Bruce Payne

    as Dogger
Sound Mark A. Mangini Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Richard L. Anderson Supervising Sound Effects Editor
Costume & Make-Up Bob Ringwood Costume Design
Sound Maurice Jarre Original Music Composer
Editing Conrad Buff IV Editor
Art Leslie Tomkins Art Direction
Writing Walon Green Screenplay
Sound Ellen Heuer Foley
Production Debbie McWilliams Casting
Crew Dennis Michelson Visual Effects Editor
Camera Peter MacDonald Director of Photography
Art Anthony Pratt Production Design
Visual Effects Richard Edlund Visual Effects Producer
Production Meg Simon Casting
Directing Alan Johnson Director
Art Francisco Prósper Art Direction
Sound Mary Andrews ADR Editor
Sound Stephen Hunter Flick Sound Effects Editor
Production Pennie DuPont Casting
Production Fran Kumin Casting
Art Raul Paton Art Direction
Sound John Roesch Foley
Production Irene Walzer Producer
Crew Terry Windell Visual Effects Art Director
Sound Warren Hamilton Jr. Sound Effects Editor
Sound William Saracino Music Editor
Art Graham Sumner Set Decoration
Sound Carlos Delarios Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Michael J. Kohut Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Aaron Rochin Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Directing Carmen Soriano Script Supervisor
Lighting Ray Potter Gaffer
Sound David E. Stone Sound Effects Editor
Art José María Alarcón Art Direction
Production Dennis J. Parrish Production Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up José Antonio Sánchez Makeup Department Head
Camera Eric D. Andersen Camera Operator
Costume & Make-Up Paquita Núñez Hairstylist
Camera Ricardo Navarrete Camera Operator
Production Jack Frost Sanders Producer
Sound James Christopher Sound Effects Editor
Writing D.A. Metrov Screenplay
Art Fernando González Art Direction
Art Don Dossett Supervising Art Director
Costume & Make-Up Patrick Wheatley Costume Supervisor
Camera Federico Gómez Grau Still Photographer
Visual Effects Annick Therrien Animation Supervisor
Sound Andrew Patterson Supervising ADR Editor