The Admiral: Roaring Currents

The Admiral: Roaring Currents (2014)

12 ships against a fleet of 330

  • Genre: War, Action, Drama, History
  • Release Date: 2014-07-30
  • User Rating: 7/10 from 269 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 6min
  • Language: 日本語
  • Production Company: Big Stone Pictures
  • Production Country: South Korea
  • Director: Kim Han-min
star 7/10
From 269 Ratings


The film mainly follows the famous 1597 Battle of Myeongryang during the Japanese invasion of Korea 1592-1598, where the iconic Joseon admiral Yi Sun-sin managed to destroy a total of 133 Japanese warships with only 13 ships remaining in his command. The battle, which took place in the Myeongryang Strait off the southwest coast of the Korean Peninsula, is considered one of the greatest victories of Yi.

The Admiral: Roaring Currents Trailer

Can i watch The Admiral: Roaring Currents on Netflix?

Is The Admiral: Roaring Currents on Netflix? Yes! The movie The Admiral: Roaring Currents is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

  • Choi Min-sik

    as Admiral Yi Sun-Shin
  • Ryu Seung-ryong

    as Kurushima Michifusa
  • Cho Jin-woong

    as Wakizaka Yasuharu
  • Jin Goo

    as Im Jun-yeong
  • Lee Jung-hyun

    as Mrs. Jeong
  • Kim Myung-gon

    as Todo Takatora
  • Kwon Yul

    as Yi Hoe
  • No Min-woo

    as Haru
  • Kim Tae-hun

    as Kim Joong-geol
  • Ryohei Otani

    as Junsa
  • Kim Kang-il

    as Kato
  • Park Bo-gum

    as Bae Su-bong
  • Lee Hae-yeong

    as Song Hui-rip
  • Jang Jun-nyeong

    as Na Dae-yong
  • Mun Yeong-dong

    as Kim Dol-son
  • Kim Won-hae

    as Bae Seol
  • Choi Deok-moon

    as Song Yeo-jong
  • Park No-shik

    as Kim Eok-choo
  • Shin Yoo-ram

    as Hye-hee
  • Ha Soo-ho

    as Executive Officer Kim Eung-ham
  • Kim Hyeon-tae

    as Ok-hyung
  • Kang Tae-young

    as Kimura
  • Kim Koo-taek

    as Bae Hong-seok
  • Jo Bok-rae

    as Oh Sang-gu (uncredited)
  • Go Kyung-pyo

    as Oh Duk-yi (uncredited)
  • Lee Jae-gu

    as Jo Mun-ong (uncredited)
  • Jo Ha-seok

    as Jo Tae-shik (uncredited)
  • Lee Joo-sil

    as Elder Jong-seon (uncredited)
  • Kyul Hwi

    as Bae-seol's man (uncredited)
  • Ju Seok-tae

    as Katsura (uncredited)
  • Kim Min-sik

    as Navy
  • Lee Seung-joon

    as Large Body Military
  • Lee Seung-joon

    as Ahn Wi
  • Jung Je-woo

    as Kuroda
  • Kim Moon-jong

    as Kim Eok-choo's chief (uncredited)
Writing Kim Han-min Writer
Directing Kim Han-min Director
Writing Jeon Cheol-hong Writer
Camera Kim Tae-sung Director of Photography
Production Kim Min-gi Producer
Production Kim Yeon-ho Line Producer
Production Kim Han-min Executive Producer
Sound Choi Tae-young Sound Supervisor
Art Im Seong-mi Art Direction
Production Jeong Byeong-wuk Producer
Production Kim Ju-kyung Producer
Art Jang Chun-sup Production Design
Production Jeon U-hyeong Line Producer
Production Jeong Tae-sung Executive Producer
Costume & Make-Up Lee Gyeong-ja Makeup & Hair
Sound Kim Tae-seong Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Rim Seung-hee Costume Design
Editing Kim Chang-ju Editor
Costume & Make-Up Kwon Yoo-jin Costume Design
Production Bang Ok-kyung Executive Producer
Production Kim Hyun-woo Co-Executive Producer
Editing Kim Woo-hyun Assistant Editor
Production Steven Nam Co-Producer
Visual Effects Park Yeong-su Senior Visual Effects Supervisor
Editing Han Mi-yeon Assistant Editor
Sound Kim Byung-in ADR Recordist
Lighting Kim Gyeong-seok Lighting Director
Sound Kang Bong-sung Sound Recordist
Visual Effects Seo Doo-hyeong VFX Artist
Crew Sin Jae-myeong Fight Choreographer
Editing Park Sung-won Assistant Editor
Visual Effects Park Choul-yong Special Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Kim Dae-jun VFX Supervisor
Crew Hong Eui-jeong Martial Arts Choreographer
Visual Effects Gang Tae-gyun VFX Supervisor
Production Park Jun-ho Line Producer
Art Jang Seok-ho Props
Art Jeon Sung-ho Set Decoration
Crew Kim Yong-ho Stunts
Editing Kevin Kang Digital Colorist
Art Byun Ki-yun Art Direction
Art Shin Bo-ra Props
Art Lee Jong-il Set Decoration
Visual Effects Yoon Dae-won Special Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Kim Nam-sik VFX Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Shin Jae-ho Special Effects Makeup Artist
Visual Effects Lee Hyun-dong VFX Supervisor
Crew Lim Wang-sub Stunt Coordinator
Writing Lee Yoon-ho Storyboard
Visual Effects Han Tae-jung VFX Supervisor
Directing Park Yoon-seo Assistant Director
Production Ahn Tae-woon Line Producer
Crew Lee Tae-yeong Stunts
Crew Lim Seung-mook Stunts