Boys Don't Cry

Boys Don't Cry (1999)

A true story about finding the courage to be yourself.

  • Genre: Crime, Drama
  • Release Date: 1999-09-02
  • User Rating: 7.5/10 from 801 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 58min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: IFC Films
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Kimberly Peirce
star 7.5/10
From 801 Ratings


Female born, Teena Brandon adopts his male identity of Brandon Teena and attempts to find himself and love in Nebraska.

Boys Don't Cry Trailer

Can i watch Boys Don't Cry on Netflix?

Unfortunately this movie is not yet available for streaming on Netflix.
Follow us on Facebook to see when Boys Don't Cry becomes available on Netflix!

  • Hilary Swank

    as Brandon Teena
  • Chloë Sevigny

    as Lana M. Tisdel
  • Peter Sarsgaard

    as John Lotter
  • Brendan Sexton III

    as Marvin "Tom" Nissen
  • Alicia Goranson

    as Candace
  • Alison Folland

    as Kate Lotter
  • Jeannetta Arnette

    as Linda Tisdel
  • Rob Campbell

    as Brian
  • Matt McGrath

    as Lonny
  • Cheyenne Rushing

    as Nicole
  • Robert Prentiss

    as Trucker
  • Josh Ridgway

    as Kwik Stop Cashier
  • Craig Erickson

    as Trucker in Kwik Stop
  • Stephanie Sechrist

    as April
  • Jerry Haynes

    as Judge
  • Lou Perryman

    as Sheriff Charles B. Laux
  • Lisa Renee Wilson

    as Pam
  • Jackson D. Kane

    as Sam Phillips
  • Joseph Gibson

    as Tom
  • Michael Tripp

    as Nerdy Teen
  • Shana McClendon

    as Girl in Car
  • Libby Villari

    as Nurse
  • Paige Carl Griggs

    as Dave (Deputy)
  • Gail Cronauer

    as Clerk
Production Suzanne Smith Casting
Production John Sloss Executive Producer
Directing Kimberly Peirce Director
Writing Kimberly Peirce Author
Writing Andy Bienen Author
Production John Hart Producer
Production Eva Kolodner Producer
Production Christine Vachon Producer
Sound Nathan Larson Original Music Composer
Camera Jim Denault Director of Photography
Editing Tracy Granger Editor
Editing Lee Percy Editor
Art Michael Shaw Production Design
Production Jeffrey Sharp Producer
Production Billy Hopkins Casting
Production Kerry Barden Casting
Production Jonathan Sehring Executive Producer
Production Caroline Kaplan Executive Producer
Production Jon Marcus Line Producer
Production Brad Simpson Producer
Production Jill Footlick Line Producer
Costume & Make-Up Victoria Farrell Costume Design
Production Pamela Koffler Executive Producer
Production Morton Swinsky Producer
Art Shawn Carroll Art Direction
Production Jennifer McNamara Casting