Superman (1978)

You'll Believe a Man Can Fly!

  • Genre: Science Fiction, Action, Adventure
  • Release Date: 1978-12-13
  • User Rating: 7.1/10 from 2663 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 23min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Dovemead Films
  • Production Country: United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director: Richard Donner
star 7.1/10
From 2,663 Ratings


Mild-mannered Clark Kent works as a reporter at the Daily Planet alongside his crush, Lois Lane. Clark must summon his superhero alter-ego when the nefarious Lex Luthor launches a plan to take over the world.

Superman Trailer

Can i watch Superman on Netflix?

Unfortunately this movie is not yet available for streaming on Netflix.
Follow us on Facebook to see when Superman becomes available on Netflix!

  • Christopher Reeve

    as Superman / Clark Kent
  • Margot Kidder

    as Lois Lane
  • Gene Hackman

    as Lex Luthor
  • Ned Beatty

    as Otis
  • Marlon Brando

    as Jor-El
  • Jackie Cooper

    as Perry White
  • Terence Stamp

    as General Zod
  • Glenn Ford

    as Pa Kent
  • Phyllis Thaxter

    as Ma Kent
  • Trevor Howard

    as 1st Elder (uncredited)
  • Jack O'Halloran

    as Non
  • Valerie Perrine

    as Eve Teschmacher
  • Maria Schell

    as Vond-Ah
  • Susannah York

    as Lara
  • Jeff East

    as Young Clark Kent
  • Marc McClure

    as Jimmy Olsen
  • Sarah Douglas

    as Ursa
  • Harry Andrews

    as 2nd Elder (uncredited)
  • Vass Anderson

    as 3rd Elder (uncredited)
  • John Hollis

    as 4th Elder (uncredited)
  • James Garbutt

    as 5th Elder (uncredited)
  • Michael Gover

    as 6th Elder (uncredited)
  • David Neal

    as 7th Elder (uncredited)
  • Penelope Lee

    as 9th Elder (uncredited)
  • John Stuart

    as 10th Elder (uncredited)
  • Alan Cullen

    as 11th Elder (uncredited)
  • Lee Quigley

    as Baby Kal-El (uncredited)
  • Aaron Smolinski

    as Baby Clark Kent (uncredited)
  • Diane Sherry Case

    as Lana Lang
  • Jeff Atcheson

    as Coach (uncredited)
  • Brad Flock

    as Football Player (uncredited)
  • David Petrou

    as Team Manager (uncredited)
  • Billy J. Mitchell

    as 1st Editor (uncredited)
  • Robert Henderson

    as 2nd Editor (uncredited)
  • Larry Lamb

    as 1st Reporter (uncredited)
  • James Brockington

    as 2nd Reporter (uncredited)
  • John Cassady

    as 3rd Reporter (uncredited)
  • John F. Parker

    as 4th Reporter (uncredited)
  • Harry Scott

    as 5th Reporter (uncredited)
  • Ray Evans

    as 6th Reporter (uncredited)
  • Su Shifrin

    as 7th Reporter (uncredited)
  • Miquel Brown

    as 8th Reporter (uncredited)
  • Vincent Marzello

    as 1st Copy Boy (uncredited)
  • Benjamin Feitelson

    as 2nd Copy Boy (uncredited)
  • Lise Hilboldt

    as 1st Secretary (uncredited)
  • Leueen Willoughby

    as 2nd Secretary (uncredited)
  • Jill Ingham

    as Perry's Secretary (uncredited)
  • Pieter Stuyck

    as Window Cleaner (uncredited)
  • Rex Reed

    as Rex Reed (uncredited)
  • Weston Gavin

    as Mugger (uncredited)
  • Steve Kahan

    as Officer 1 (uncredited)
  • Ray Hassett

    as Officer 2 (uncredited)
  • Randy Jurgensen

    as Officer 3 (uncredited)
  • Matt Russo

    as News Vendor (uncredited)
  • Colin Skeaping

    as Pilot (uncredited)
  • Bo Rucker

    as Pimp (uncredited)
  • Paul Avery

    as TV Cameraman (uncredited)
  • David Baxt

    as Burglar (uncredited)
  • George Harris II

    as Patrolman Mooney (uncredited)
  • Michael Harrigan

    as 1st Hood (uncredited)
  • John Cording

    as 2nd Hood (uncredited)
  • Raymond Thompson

    as 3rd Hood (uncredited)
  • Oz Clarke

    as 4th Hood (uncredited)
  • Rex Everhart

    as Desk Sergeant (uncredited)
  • Jayne Tottman

    as Little Girl (uncredited)
  • Frank Lazarus

    as Air Force One Pilot (uncredited)
  • Brian Protheroe

    as Co Pilot (uncredited)
  • Lawrence Trimble

    as 1st Crewman (uncredited)
  • Robert Whelan

    as 2nd Crewman (uncredited)
  • David Calder

    as 3rd Crewman (uncredited)
  • Norwich Duff

    as Newscaster (uncredited)
  • Keith Alexander

    as Newscaster (uncredited)
  • Michael Ensign

    as Newscaster (uncredited)
  • Larry Hagman

    as Major (uncredited)
  • Paul Tuerpe

    as Sgt. Hayley (uncredited)
  • Graham McPherson

    as Lieutenant (uncredited)
  • David Yorston

    as Petty Officer (uncredited)
  • Robert O'Neill

    as Admiral (uncredited)
  • Robert MacLeod

    as General (uncredited)
  • John Ratzenberger

    as 1st Controller (uncredited)
  • Alan Tilvern

    as 2nd Controller (uncredited)
  • Phil Brown

    as State Senator (uncredited)
  • Bill Bailey

    as 2nd Senator (uncredited)
  • Burnell Tucker

    as Agent (uncredited)
  • Chief Tug Smith

    as Indian Chief (uncredited)
  • Norman Warwick

    as Superchief Driver (uncredited)
  • Chuck Julian

    as Assistant (uncredited)
  • Colin Etherington

    as Power Co. Driver (uncredited)
  • Mark Wynter

    as Mate (uncredited)
  • Roy Stevens

    as Warden (uncredited)
  • William Russell

    as 8th Elder (uncredited)
  • Noel Neill

    as Ella Lane (uncredited)
  • Kirk Alyn

    as Sam Lane (uncredited)
  • Edward Finneran

    as special football player (contest winner) (uncredited)
  • Tony Selby

    as Hood (uncredited)
Sound John Williams Original Music Composer
Camera Geoffrey Unsworth Director of Photography
Art Norman Reynolds Art Direction
Production Lynn Stalmaster Casting
Editing Stuart Baird Editor
Writing Mario Puzo Screenplay
Writing Mario Puzo Story
Writing Tom Mankiewicz Writer
Art Leslie Dilley Art Direction
Art Stuart Craig Art Direction
Writing David Newman Screenplay
Writing Robert Benton Screenplay
Directing Richard Donner Director
Art Tony Reading Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Stuart Freeborn Makeup Supervisor
Art Norman Dorme Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Patricia McDermott Hairdresser
Writing Jerry Siegel Characters
Writing Joe Shuster Characters
Production Ilya Salkind Executive Producer
Production Pierre Spengler Producer
Costume & Make-Up Yvonne Blake Costume Design
Editing Michael Ellis Editor
Writing Leslie Newman Screenplay
Production Dusty Symonds Production Manager
Visual Effects Colin Chilvers Special Effects Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Nick Maley Makeup Artist
Crew Robert Lynn Second Unit
Art John Barry Production Design
Directing John Barry Second Unit Director
Sound Norman Bolland Sound Mixer
Art Ernest Archer Art Direction
Sound Gordon K. McCallum Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Art Steve Cooper Set Designer
Camera Mike Fox Camera Operator
Art Peter Howitt Set Decoration
Sound Roy Charman Sound Mixer
Sound Peter Pennell Sound Effects Editor
Sound Chris Greenham Supervising Sound Editor
Production Charles F. Greenlaw Associate Producer
Production Robert Simmonds Production Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Phil Rhodes Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Louis Lane Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Basil Newall Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Connie Reeve Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Joan White Hairdresser
Costume & Make-Up Betty Adamson Wardrobe Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Jamie Brown Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Graham Freeborn Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Kay Freeborn Makeup Artist
Art Philip Bennet Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Sylvia Croft Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Iloe Elliott Hairdresser
Costume & Make-Up Darby Halpin Hairdresser
Costume & Make-Up Cathy Kevany Hairdresser
Costume & Make-Up Stella Rivers Hairdresser
Visual Effects Denis Rich Visual Effects Designer
Costume & Make-Up Barbara Gillett Wardrobe Assistant
Art Reg Bream Draughtsman
Camera David Wynn-Jones First Assistant Camera