Escape to Victory

Escape to Victory (1981)

Now is the time for heroes.

  • Genre: Drama, War
  • Release Date: 1981-06-17
  • User Rating: 6.877/10 from 818 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 56min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Paramount
  • Production Country: Italy, United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director: John Huston
star 6.877/10
From 818 Ratings


A group of POWs in a German prison camp during World War II play the German National Soccer Team in this powerful film depicting the role of prisoners during wartime.

Escape to Victory Trailer

Can i watch Escape to Victory on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie Escape to Victory is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Escape to Victory becomes available on Netflix!

  • Sylvester Stallone

    as Captain Robert Hatch
  • Michael Caine

    as Captain John Colby
  • Max von Sydow

    as Major Karl von Steiner
  • Pelé

    as Cpl. Luis Fernandez, Brazil
  • Carole Laure

    as Renée
  • Bobby Moore

    as Terry Brady, England
  • Osvaldo Ardiles

    as Carlos Rey, Argentina
  • Paul Van Himst

    as Michel Fileu, Belgium
  • Kazimierz Deyna

    as Paul Wolchek, Poland
  • Mike Summerbee

    as Sid Harmor, England
  • Co Prins

    as Pieter Van Beck, Holland
  • Russell Osman

    as Doug Clure, England
  • John Wark

    as Arthur Hayes, Scotland
  • Søren Lindsted

    as Erik Ball, Denmark
  • Kevin O'Callaghan

    as Tony Lewis, Ireland
  • Gary Waldhorn

    as Mueller, german coach
  • George Mikell

    as Kommandant
  • Laurie Sivell

    as Schmidt, german goalie
  • Arthur Brauss

    as Lutz
  • Robin Turner

    as a german player
  • Michael Wolf

    as Lang
  • Jürgen Andersen

    as a propaganda civilian
  • David Shawyer

    as Strauss
  • Werner Roth

    as Baumann, german team captain
  • Amidou

    as André
  • Benoît Ferreux

    as Jean-Paul
  • Jean-François Stévenin

    as Claude
  • Jack Lenoir

    as Georges
  • Zoltán Gera

    as Viktor
  • Tim Pigott-Smith

    as Rose
  • Julian Curry

    as Shurlock
  • Clive Merrison

    as The Forger
  • Maurice Roëves

    as Pyrie
  • Michael Cochrane

    as Farrell
  • Jack Kendrick

    as Williams
  • Daniel Massey

    as Colonel Waldron
  • Anton Diffring

    as chief commentator
  • Gunter Wolbert

    as german commentator
  • Capacci Eolo

    as italian commentator
  • Michel Drhey

    as french commentator
  • Hallvar Thoresen

    as Gunnar Hilsson, Norway
Production Mario Kassar Co-Producer
Directing John Huston Director
Sound Bill Conti Original Music Composer
Art J. Dennis Washington Production Design
Production Freddie Fields Producer
Production Annie Fargue Associate Producer
Camera Gerry Fisher Director of Photography
Editing Roberto Silvi Editor
Writing Jeff Maguire Story
Writing Djordje Milicevic Story
Writing Evan Jones Screenplay
Writing Yabo Yablonsky Screenplay
Writing Yabo Yablonsky Story
Art Sydney Ann Smith-Kee Set Decoration
Camera Mike Rutter Assistant Camera
Camera Kenneth J. Withers Camera Operator