Return to Oz

Return to Oz (1985)

An all-new adventure down the yellow brick road.

  • Genre: Adventure, Family, Fantasy
  • Release Date: 1985-06-21
  • User Rating: 6.7/10 from 975 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 49min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Oz Productions Ltd.
  • Production Country: United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Director: Walter Murch
star 6.7/10
From 975 Ratings


Dorothy, saved from a psychiatric experiment by a mysterious girl, finds herself back in the land of her dreams, and makes delightful new friends, and dangerous new enemies.

Return to Oz Trailer

Can i watch Return to Oz on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie Return to Oz is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when Return to Oz becomes available on Netflix!

  • Fairuza Balk

    as Dorothy Gale
  • Nicol Williamson

    as Dr. Worley / Nome King
  • Jean Marsh

    as Nurse Wilson / Mombi
  • Piper Laurie

    as Aunt Em
  • Matt Clark

    as Uncle Henry
  • Sean Barrett

    as Tik-Tok (voice)
  • Denise Bryer

    as Billina (voice)
  • Brian Henson

    as Jack Pumpkinhead (voice)
  • Lyle Conway

    as Gump (voice)
  • Justin Case

    as Scarecrow
  • John Alexander

    as Cowardly Lion
  • Deep Roy

    as Tin Man
  • Emma Ridley

    as Ozma
  • Michael Sundin

    as Tik-Tok
  • Tim Rose

    as Tik-Tok
  • Stephen Norrington

    as Gump
  • Sophie Ward

    as Mombi II
  • Fiona Victory

    as Mombi III
  • Pons Maar

    as Lead Wheeler / Nome Messenger
  • Rachel Ashton

    as Wheeler
  • Robbie Barnett

    as Wheeler
  • Ailsa Berk

    as Wheeler
  • Peter Elliott

    as Wheeler
  • Roger Ennals

    as Wheeler
  • Michele Hine

    as Wheeler
  • Mark Hopkins

    as Wheeler
  • Colin Skeaping

    as Wheeler
  • Ken Stevens

    as Wheeler
  • Philip Tan

    as Wheeler
  • Rob Thirtle

    as Wheeler
  • Bruce Boa

    as Policeman
  • Tansy

    as Toto
  • Andy Bradford

    as Wheeler (uncredited)
  • Stuart Fell

    as Wheeler (uncredited)
  • Cherie Hawkins

    as Polychrome (uncredited)
  • Barrie Holland

    as Gentleman (uncredited)
  • Kevin Hudson

    as Munchkin (uncredited)
  • Jon Jacobs

    as Cage Carrier (uncredited)
  • Gareth Milne

    as Wheeler (uncredited)
  • Guy Standeven

    as Santa Claus (uncredited)
  • Tip Tipping

    as Wheeler (uncredited)
Production Paul Maslansky Producer
Directing Walter Murch Director
Production Gary Kurtz Executive Producer
Editing Leslie Hodgson Editor
Camera David Watkin Director of Photography
Writing L. Frank Baum Book
Writing Gill Dennis Screenplay
Production Colin Michael Kitchens Associate Producer
Writing Walter Murch Screenplay
Production Grania O'Shannon Location Manager
Art Norman Reynolds Production Design
Directing Sally Jones Continuity
Sound Peter Musgrave Sound Editor
Crew George Lucas Thanks
Lighting Jim Dawes Gaffer
Camera Gordon Hayman Camera Operator
Directing Michael Murray Assistant Director
Costume & Make-Up Robin Grantham Makeup Supervisor
Sound Herbert W. Spencer Orchestrator
Lighting Maurice Gillett Gaffer
Directing Kieron Phipps Second Assistant Director
Sound Walter Nelson Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Stan Witt Music Editor
Production Bruce Sharman Executive In Charge Of Production
Writing Henry Selick Storyboard
Art Richard Holland Draughtsman
Costume & Make-Up Beryl Lerman Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Patricia McDermott Hair Department Head
Art Michael Ford Set Decoration
Costume & Make-Up William McPhail Assistant Costume Designer
Sound Bill Rowe Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Visual Effects Lyle Conway Creature Design
Production Mike Fenton Casting
Production Marci Liroff Casting
Writing Harley Jessup Storyboard
Camera Richard Blanshard Still Photographer
Art Peter Hancock Property Master
Visual Effects John Stephenson Mechanical Designer
Production Susie Figgis Casting
Production Philip Kohler Unit Manager
Art Fred Hole Art Direction
Directing Ian Hickinbotham Second Assistant Director
Crew Colin Skeaping Stunt Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Raymond Hughes Costume Design
Sound Geoff R. Brown Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Tony Morris Assistant Sound Editor
Writing Mike Ploog Storyboard
Directing Ray Corbett Assistant Director
Camera Barry Peake Still Photographer
Art Charles Bishop Supervising Art Director
Camera Ken Worringham Camera Operator
Sound Martin Evans Sound Editor
Crew Robert Watts Thanks
Production Jane Feinberg Casting
Writing Denis Rich Storyboard
Costume & Make-Up Magdalen Gaffney Makeup Artist
Sound Michael Hopkins Sound Editor
Editing Dan Farrell Assistant Editor
Art Reg Bream Draughtsman
Camera John Palmer Camera Operator
Visual Effects Will Vinton Animation Director
Sound David Shire Original Music Composer
Costume & Make-Up Paul Vachon Wardrobe Supervisor
Crew Andy Bradford Stunts
Crew Cheryl Brown Stunt Double
Crew Alison Lynn Stunt Double
Crew Gareth Milne Stunts
Crew Nicola Roche Stunt Double
Crew Tip Tipping Stunts
Crew Sarah White Stunt Double
Crew Elaine Ford Stunts