Shutter Island

Shutter Island (2010)

Some places never let you go.

  • Genre: Drama, Thriller, Mystery
  • Release Date: 2010-02-14
  • User Rating: 8.2/10 from 23190 ratings
  • Runtime: 2h 18min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Paramount
  • Production Country: United States of America
  • Director: Martin Scorsese
star 8.2/10
From 23,190 Ratings


World War II soldier-turned-U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels investigates the disappearance of a patient from a hospital for the criminally insane, but his efforts are compromised by troubling visions and a mysterious doctor.

Shutter Island Trailer

Can i watch Shutter Island on Netflix?

Is Shutter Island on Netflix? Yes! The movie Shutter Island is now on Netflix in the countries listed below.

  • Leonardo DiCaprio

    as Edward Teddy Daniels
  • Mark Ruffalo

    as Chuck Aule
  • Ben Kingsley

    as Dr. John Cawley
  • Max von Sydow

    as Dr. Naehring
  • Michelle Williams

    as Dolores
  • Emily Mortimer

    as Rachel Solando (1)
  • Patricia Clarkson

    as Rachel 2
  • Jackie Earle Haley

    as George Noyce
  • Ted Levine

    as Warden
  • John Carroll Lynch

    as Deputy Warden McPherson
  • Elias Koteas

    as Andrew Laeddis
  • Robin Bartlett

    as Bridget Kearns
  • Christopher Denham

    as Peter Breene
  • Nellie Sciutto

    as Nurse Marino
  • Joseph Sikora

    as Glen Miga
  • Curtiss Cook

    as Trey Washington
  • Raymond Anthony Thomas

    as Orderly Ganton
  • Joseph McKenna

    as Inmate Billings
  • Ruby Jerins

    as Little Girl
  • Tom Kemp

    as Ward C Guard
  • Bates Wilder

    as Ward C Guard
  • Lars Gerhard

    as Dying Commandant
  • Matthew Cowles

    as Ferry Captain
  • Jill Larson

    as Manacled Woman
  • Ziad Akl

    as Tattoo'd Man
  • Dennis Lynch

    as Red-Haired Man
  • John Porell

    as Wild-Eyed Man
  • Aidan Cole Mitchell

    as Younger Boy
  • Drew Beasley

    as Younger Boy
  • Joseph P. Reidy

    as Operator
  • Bree Elrod

    as Female Patient
  • Thomas B. Duffy

    as Guard
  • Ken Cheeseman

    as Doctor
  • Steve Witting

    as Doctor
  • Michael E. Chapman

    as Patient
  • Keith Fluker

    as Orderly
  • Darryl Wooten

    as Orderly
  • Michael Byron

    as McPherson's Driver
  • Gary Galone

    as Gate Guard
  • Gabriel Hansen

    as Young Guard
  • Dan Marshall

    as U.S. G.I. at Dachau Liberation / German S.S. Officer Killed (uncredited)
  • Harrison Young

    as Psychiatric Patient (uncredited)
  • John Franchi

    as Criminally Insane Inmate (uncredited)
Directing Martin Scorsese Director
Writing Dennis Lehane Novel
Writing Laeta Kalogridis Screenplay
Costume & Make-Up Sandy Powell Costume Design
Production Mike Medavoy Producer
Production Arnold Messer Producer
Production Martin Scorsese Producer
Production Ellen Lewis Casting
Camera Robert Richardson Director of Photography
Costume & Make-Up Manlio Rocchetti Makeup Department Head
Art Dante Ferretti Production Design
Production Louis Phillips Executive Producer
Sound Robbie Robertson Music Supervisor
Sound Jennifer Dunnington Music Editor
Editing Thelma Schoonmaker Editor
Camera Andrew Cooper Still Photographer
Sound Eugene Gearty Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Philip Stockton Supervising Sound Editor
Sound Tom Fleischman Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Camera Larry McConkey Steadicam Operator
Art Francesca Lo Schiavo Set Decoration
Art Max Biscoe Art Direction
Art Christina Ann Wilson Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Jerry Popolis Hair Department Head
Production Meghan Rafferty Casting Associate
Art Robert Guerra Supervising Art Director
Production Robin Citrin Location Manager
Sound Fred Rosenberg Dialogue Editor
Sound Petur Hliddal Sound Mixer
Art Scott Getzinger Property Master
Directing Martha Pinson Script Supervisor
Sound Marissa Littlefield Supervising ADR Editor
Sound Kam Chan Foley Editor
Sound Jamie Baker Foley Editor
Costume & Make-Up Kathryn Blondell Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Alan D'Angerio Hairstylist
Costume & Make-Up Christine Fennell Key Hair Stylist
Costume & Make-Up Patricia Regan Key Makeup Artist
Costume & Make-Up Sian Grigg Makeup Artist
Art Hinju Kim Assistant Art Director
Art Marion Kolsby Assistant Art Director
Art Patricia Woodbridge Assistant Art Director
Art Barbra Matis Assistant Art Director
Art Michael Jortner Assistant Property Master
Art Cathy Scorsese Assistant Property Master
Art Duke Scoppa Assistant Property Master
Art Thomas A. Morris Jr. Construction Coordinator
Crew R. Bruce Steinheimer Special Effects Coordinator
Crew Luke McDonald CG Supervisor
Crew Adam Watkins CG Supervisor
Visual Effects Llyr Tobias Johansen Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Paula Diane Lopez Visual Effects Coordinator
Visual Effects Ariane Rosier Visual Effects Coordinator
Crew Wenden K. Baldwin Visual Effects Editor
Visual Effects Ron Ames Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Christina Graff Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects David Sanger Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Shannon Blake Gans Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Jonathan Stone Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Magdalena Wolf Visual Effects Producer
Visual Effects Robert Legato Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Paul Graff Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Matthew Gratzner Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Ben Grossmann Visual Effects Supervisor
Lighting Ian Kincaid Chief Lighting Technician
Camera Robert Legato Second Unit Director of Photography
Camera Daniel Pershing Dolly Grip
Lighting Robert Cuddy Electrician
Lighting Kim Kono Electrician
Lighting Jack McPhee Electrician
Lighting Simone Perusse Electrician
Lighting Dave Provenzano Electrician
Lighting Jose 'Flecha' Hernandez Electrician
Lighting Andrew Bell Rigging Grip
Lighting R. Scott Forster Rigging Grip
Lighting Tobias Haller Rigging Grip
Lighting Michael S. Roberts Rigging Grip
Costume & Make-Up John Cowell Ager/Dyer
Costume & Make-Up Dianna Reardon Ager/Dyer
Costume & Make-Up Lisa Padovani Assistant Costume Designer
Costume & Make-Up Denise Andres Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up David Davenport Costume Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Debbie Holbrook Key Costumer
Costume & Make-Up Bettina Hastie Tailor
Costume & Make-Up Ann Powderly Tailor
Costume & Make-Up Joni M. Huth Tailor
Editing Curtis Lindersmith Digital Intermediate
Editing Yvan Lucas Digital Intermediate
Editing Tom Reiser Digital Intermediate
Editing Chris Taft Digital Intermediate
Editing Scott Brock First Assistant Editor
Art Randall Balsmeyer Title Designer
Production Marianne Bower Researcher
Crew Al Cerullo Pilot
Crew David Fencl Armorer
Crew James P. Meehan Armorer
Crew Matthew H. O'Connor Marine Coordinator
Crew Guillaume DeLouche Armorer
Crew Stephen Mann Stunt Double
Crew Robert Chapin Digital Effects Supervisor
Directing Amy Herman First Assistant Director
Directing Amy Lauritsen Second Assistant Director
Directing Robert Legato Second Unit Director
Directing Freida Orange Second Second Assistant Director
Directing Joseph P. Reidy First Assistant Director
Directing John Silvestri Second Assistant Director
Crew G. A. Aguilar Stunt Coordinator
Crew Chris Barnes Stunts
Crew George B. Colucci Jr. Stunt Double
Crew Blaise Corrigan Stunt Coordinator
Crew Matthew C Dumond Stunt Double
Crew Mark Fichera Stunt Double
Crew Jeffrey Lee Gibson Stunts
Crew Stephen Leavins Stunt Double
Crew Paul Marini Stunt Double
Crew Ian Mclaughlin Stunts
Camera Michael Duarte Grip
Camera William L. Flanagan Grip
Camera Sean Hadley Grip
Camera Hugh McCallum Grip
Camera David C. Romano Grip
Camera Ed Searles Grip
Camera Wilfredo Usuga Grip
Art Wayne Brackett Set Dresser
Art Joseph DeLuca Set Dresser
Art Paul Alexander Larkin Set Dresser
Art Gabor Medveczky Set Dresser
Art Julio Daniel Rodriguez Set Dresser
Crew Susan Garfield Stand In
Production Brad Fischer Producer