The Sweet Hereafter

The Sweet Hereafter (1997)

There is no such thing as the simple truth.

  • Genre: Drama
  • Release Date: 1997-09-25
  • User Rating: 6.905/10 from 354 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 52min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Fine Line Features
  • Production Country: Canada
  • Director: Atom Egoyan
star 6.905/10
From 354 Ratings


A small mountain community in Canada is devastated when a school bus accident leaves more than a dozen of its children dead. A big-city lawyer arrives to help the survivors' and victims' families prepare a class-action suit, but his efforts only seem to push the townspeople further apart. At the same time, one teenage survivor of the accident has to reckon with the loss of innocence brought about by a different kind of damage.

The Sweet Hereafter Trailer

Can i watch The Sweet Hereafter on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie The Sweet Hereafter is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Sweet Hereafter becomes available on Netflix!

  • Ian Holm

    as Mitchell Stephens
  • Sarah Polley

    as Nicole Burnell
  • Tom McCamus

    as Sam Burnell
  • Gabrielle Rose

    as Dolores Driscoll
  • Alberta Watson

    as Risa Walker
  • Caerthan Banks

    as Zoe Stephens
  • Maury Chaykin

    as Wendell Walker
  • Stephanie Morgenstern

    as Allison
  • Kirsten Kieferle

    as Stewardess
  • Arsinée Khanjian

    as Wanda Otto
  • Earl Pastko

    as Hartley Otto
  • Simon Baker

    as Bear
  • David Hemblen

    as Abbott Driscoll
  • Bruce Greenwood

    as Billy Ansel
  • Sarah Rosen Fruitman

    as Jessica Ansel
  • Marc Donato

    as Mason Ansel
  • Devon Finn

    as Sean Walker
  • Fides Krucker

    as Klara Stephens
  • Magdalena Sokolowski

    as Young Zoe
  • James D. Watts

    as Young Mitchell
  • Brooke Johnson

    as Mary Burnell
  • Allegra Denton

    as Jenny
  • Peter Donaldson

    as Schwartz
  • Russell Banks

    as Dr. Robeson
  • Mychael Danna

    as Live Band Harmonium Player (uncredited)
Sound Mychael Danna Original Music Composer
Art Jon P. Goulding Set Designer
Editing Dov Samuel Assistant Editor
Crew Simone Urdl Post Production Supervisor
Production András Hámori Executive Producer
Production Robert Lantos Executive Producer
Sound Goro Koyama Foley Artist
Sound Andy Malcolm Foley Artist
Editing Susan Shipton Editor
Camera Paul Sarossy Director of Photography
Writing Atom Egoyan Screenplay
Directing Atom Egoyan Director
Production Atom Egoyan Producer
Art Alexandra Hooper Lead Set Dresser
Production Camelia Frieberg Producer
Writing Russell Banks Novel
Production David Webb Associate Producer
Directing David Webb First Assistant Director
Sound Steve Munro Sound Designer
Sound Steve Munro Sound Engineer
Sound Steve Munro ADR Recordist
Sound Tony Van den Akker Foley Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Beth Pasternak Costume Design
Art Phillip Barker Production Design
Art Patricia Cuccia Set Decoration
Art Peter Cosco First Assistant Art Direction
Production Sandra Cunningham Line Producer
Visual Effects Dennis Berardi Visual Effects
Sound Daniel Pellerin Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Costume & Make-Up Joan Boyko Costumer
Directing Cassandra Cronenberg Assistant Director Trainee
Directing Andy Mikita First Assistant Director
Production Selina Williams Location Production Assistant
Production Roberta Pazdro Production Manager
Visual Effects Frank Falcone Visual Effects Supervisor
Sound Ron Searles Sound Engineer
Sound Sue Conley Dialogue Editor
Editing Paul Winestock First Assistant Editor
Costume & Make-Up Patricia Boulden Assistant Costume Designer
Visual Effects Persis Reynolds Visual Effects Producer
Sound Keith Elliott Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Michael Kavanagh Special Effects Coordinator
Sound Peter Kelly Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Crew Jeff Skochko Special Effects Technician
Crew Dawn Rivard Special Effects
Production Tracey Renyard Assistant Location Manager
Directing Joanne T. Harwood Script Supervisor
Costume & Make-Up Debra Johnson Hairstylist
Art Kathleen Climie Art Direction
Costume & Make-Up Sylvain Cournoyer Makeup Artist
Camera Rod Crombie Steadicam Operator
Production Tami Thomson Production Coordinator
Camera Johnnie Eisen Still Photographer
Crew Peter Szkoda Stunt Coordinator
Costume & Make-Up Alexander Reda Assistant Costume Designer
Art Peter Atto Set Dresser
Sound Sharon Zupancic Assistant Foley Artist
Costume & Make-Up Stephen Lynch Assistant Makeup Artist
Production Darren Robson Location Production Assistant
Sound Steve Copley Foley Mixer
Sound Eric Apps ADR Recordist
Production Eardley Wilmot Location Manager
Sound David Drainie Taylor ADR Editor
Sound Bob Lacivita ADR Recordist
Production Lorne Davidson Location Manager
Sound Ron Mellegers Assistant Foley Artist
Visual Effects James Cooper Visual Effects Supervisor
Directing Tracey Poirier Second Assistant Director
Editing Joanne Rourke Colorist
Directing Bruno Bryniarski Second Assistant Director
Art Darryl Dennis Deegan Lead Set Dresser
Sound Colin Baxter Sound Assistant
Visual Effects Craig Small Visual Effects
Sound Ray Campbell Sound Assistant
Costume & Make-Up Gérald Altenburg Assistant Hairstylist
Production Megan Conacher Extras Casting
Sound Greg Shim ADR Recordist
Editing Chris Hinton Color Timer
Costume & Make-Up Mary Monforte Assistant Makeup Artist
Directing Mary Sylwester Third Assistant Director
Art Larry Burkam Art Department Assistant
Art Larry Burkam Set Dresser
Art Sandy Glud Set Buyer
Sound Bernie Cisternas Sound Engineer
Sound James A. Gore Assistant Foley Artist
Sound David Horton Boom Operator
Sound Ross Redfern Sound Recordist
Crew Curtis Bradshaw Special Effects Assistant
Crew Robert Moon Key Special Effects
Crew Teo Moon Special Effects Assistant
Crew Jason Wells Special Effects
Visual Effects Jason Carswell Visual Effects
Visual Effects Sean Montgomery Visual Effects
Production Suzanne Leslie Extras Casting
Costume & Make-Up Pat Blow Costume Assistant
Editing Janis Kanigan Color Timer
Production Cory Kinney Assistant Location Manager
Production Matthew Williams Location Production Assistant
Writing Allen Bell Script Editor