The Tale of Despereaux

The Tale of Despereaux (2008)

Small Mouse. Big Dreams.

  • Genre: Adventure, Animation, Family
  • Release Date: 2008-12-18
  • User Rating: 6.055/10 from 832 ratings
  • Runtime: 1h 33min
  • Language: English
  • Production Company: Larger Than Life Productions
  • Production Country: United Kingdom, United States of America
  • Directors: Robert Stevenhagen, Sam Fell.
star 6.055/10
From 832 Ratings


Once upon a time... in the far away kingdom of Dor... lived a brave and virtuous mouse with comically oversized ears who dreamt of becoming a knight. Banished from his home for having such lofty ambitions, Despereaux sets off on an amazing adventure with his good-hearted rat friend Roscuro, who leads him, at long last, on a very noble quest to rescue an endangered princess and save an entire kingdom from darkness.

The Tale of Despereaux Trailer

Can i watch The Tale of Despereaux on Netflix?

Unfortunately the movie The Tale of Despereaux is not yet available on Netflix. Follow us on Facebook to see when The Tale of Despereaux becomes available on Netflix!

  • Matthew Broderick

    as Despereaux (voice)
  • Dustin Hoffman

    as Roscuro (voice)
  • Emma Watson

    as Princess Pea (voice)
  • Tracey Ullman

    as Miggery Sow (voice)
  • Kevin Kline

    as Chef Andre (voice)
  • Sigourney Weaver

    as The Narrator (voice)
  • William H. Macy

    as Lester (voice)
  • Stanley Tucci

    as Boldo (voice)
  • Ciarán Hinds

    as Botticelli (voice)
  • Robbie Coltrane

    as Gregory (voice)
  • Tony Hale

    as Furlough (voice)
  • Frances Conroy

    as Antoinette (voice)
  • Frank Langella

    as Mayor (voice)
  • Richard Jenkins

    as Principal (voice)
  • Christopher Lloyd

    as Hovis (voice)
  • Charles Shaughnessy

    as Pietro (voice)
  • Patricia Cullen

    as Queen (voice)
  • McNally Sagal

    as Teacher (voice)
  • Sam Fell

    as Ned / Smudge (voice)
Production Debra Zane Casting
Crew William Goldenberg Thanks
Sound William Ross Original Music Composer
Sound William Ross Orchestrator
Production David Lipman Executive Producer
Sound Anna MacKenzie ADR Editor
Sound Lon Bender Sound Designer
Sound Lon Bender Supervising Sound Editor
Writing Gary Ross Screenplay
Production Gary Ross Producer
Production Robin Bissell Executive Producer
Production Allison Thomas Producer
Sound Conrad Pope Orchestrator
Writing Will McRobb Screenstory
Writing Chris Viscardi Screenstory
Production Ryan Kavanaugh Executive Producer
Production Caitlin McKenna ADR Voice Casting
Directing Robert Stevenhagen Director
Directing Sam Fell Director
Camera Brad Blackbourn Director of Photography
Editing Mark Solomon Editor
Visual Effects Michael Schlingmann Lead Animator
Art Olivier Adam Supervising Art Director
Writing Kate DiCamillo Book
Visual Effects Tim Watts Character Designer
Visual Effects Tim Watts Lead Animator
Production Tannis Vallely Casting Associate
Sound Jon Title Sound Designer
Sound Chris Jenkins Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Frank A. Montaño Sound Re-Recording Mixer
Sound Michelle Pazer ADR Editor
Sound Chris Jargo ADR Supervisor
Sound Peter Myles Music Editor
Editing Rob Woiwod Assistant Editor
Visual Effects Phil Dale Lead Animator
Visual Effects Peter Dodd Lead Animator
Visual Effects Gabriele Zucchelli Animation Supervisor
Visual Effects Matt Everitt Lead Animator
Sound Gayle Wesley First Assistant Sound Editor
Sound Paul Aulicino Sound Effects Editor
Sound Kathy Nelson Music Supervisor
Editing Claire Dodgson Associate Editor
Sound Jerome Leroy Orchestrator
Editing Steve Pang First Assistant Editor
Editing Terry Claborn Color Timer
Visual Effects Jeremy Lazare Lead Animator
Crew Cheryl Murphy Post Production Supervisor
Production William Sargent Executive Producer
Production Tracy Shaw Co-Producer
Art Evgeni Tomov Production Design
Visual Effects Evgeni Tomov Character Designer
Visual Effects Barry Armour Visual Effects Supervisor
Visual Effects Nikolay Neykov Character Designer
Visual Effects Nelson Yokota Character Designer
Editing Aidan O'Brien First Assistant Editor
Editing Erika Gonzales Assistant Editor
Production Celia Boydell Associate Producer
Production Peiyu Foley Associate Producer
Production Casey Crowe Associate Producer
Production Jamal McLemore Associate Producer
Production Tripp Hudson Line Producer
Visual Effects Bart Boirot Lead Animator
Visual Effects Rahul Dabholkar Lead Animator
Visual Effects José Luis de Lucas Lead Animator
Art Bruce Schluter Title Designer
Visual Effects Henry Bush Pipeline Technical Director